1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

range of Wifi

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by zathus, Jan 22, 2010.

  1. zathus
    Offline

    zathus New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    El cajon Ca
    Ive googled this but I couldnt find any solid info on this, whats the range of Wifi? I had a strange thing happen today, I left to go to the store (about 3 miles away) and I still had the wifi from home. I even double checked to see if it was my wifi or a bug that auto linked me to a close by wifi. I was even able to use Gmote lol. strange huh? wonder how far I could have gone. anyone else every get that type of range from there wifi??
  2. nkcavs23
    Offline

    nkcavs23 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    it varies. that is pretty weird, typically personal wifi is just like around your house, sometimes your neighbors can pick it up, usually protected by WEP. you must have the type they use in like a mall where you get wifi.
  3. cb2000a
    Offline

    cb2000a New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hawaii
    The FCC is looking for you.....;)
  4. zathus
    Offline

    zathus New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    El cajon Ca
    lol

    Its nothing great. just a normal Linksys 2.4 Ghz. I just tried to find out the max it will go and it ended up cutting out around 3.5 miles give or take. (using a trip metter on my car) wtf is going on? lol its never done this before. its kinda freaking me out b/c if this is correct, the range of my wifi is covering a few 100 ppl in that type of range. out of a few 100 your bound to get 1 that wants to mess with your stuff =) gona unplug it for a while and hope it goes away. I dont want or need that type or range
  5. masterxchief
    Offline

    masterxchief New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    Wow that's crazy. Were you connected on 802.11n? Although I don't think even that has the range to cover a mile let alone 3.5
  6. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    N is spec'ed at 850ft...3 miles?
  7. zathus
    Offline

    zathus New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    El cajon Ca
    give or take. ya heh. it went away though, I pulled the plug, gave it a few, now it drops a few houses down. I have no clue what it was about and cant find any info online about someone else getting something like this happening to them
  8. garrett
    Offline

    garrett Beta Team Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In a van by the River......
    you were most likely just on 3g and the icon and information had not refreshed itself making it look like you were still on wifi.

    any router for the home your extremely lucky to get past the neighbors house with it still working.
  9. don_813
    Offline

    don_813 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    UCLA
    lol your 3 miles is insane. that's like 22nd century stuff,
  10. FoFa
    Offline

    FoFa New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Are you using something like locale and a cell tower to detect your location and setting wifi on?
  11. mjs31
    Offline

    mjs31 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    873
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NE Texas
    LOL. No way you were still using your home router at 3 miles. Could be a glitch, locale (will turn router on to check things), or you picked up someone else's. Who knows what caused it.
  12. Thoraldus
    Offline

    Thoraldus New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SE Idaho at 6000'
    Max I've seen is about 1000' Between our city hall and middle school. That was clear line of sight from second floor window.
  13. mikedav1
    Offline

    mikedav1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly PA
    Depending on the router model, there might be a setting to power down the range if it persists. On my d-link, there is one. Model is DGL-4500.
  14. hobby31
    Offline

    hobby31 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Florida
    That's strange. I have a linxsys 2.4ghz and in my 2500 sqft house I can barely get wifi on the droid in my bedroom. (the router is on the other side of the house) Maybe one bar. If I go in my bathroom I loose it completely. My old iphone had the same distance too. I agree with one of the posters, the icon must not have refreshed or something and you were on 3g.
  15. Thoraldus
    Offline

    Thoraldus New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SE Idaho at 6000'
    Check your power output settings. Maybe it's set low.
  16. huskur
    Offline

    huskur New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,867
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lower Delaware
    I have a RangeMax D-Link N router. I get about 600ft range out of it. With a repeater in my attic i can get around 1000 ft.
Search tags for this page
droid wifi out of range
,

m806blu

,

normal range of wifi

,

phone wifi range

,
range of wifi on phone
,
range of wifi phone
,
typical range of wifi
,

what is the range of normal wifi connectivity

,

what is the range of normal wifi connectivity?

,
what is the range of wif in phones?
,
what is the range of wifi in android
,
wifi radius for android phones
,

wifi range on phones

,
wifi types and range
,

wifi types and ranges