1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

r2d2 bootanimation

Discussion in 'Droid X Hacks' started by JCent105, May 27, 2011.

  1. JCent105
    Offline

    JCent105 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey everyone,

    I am having a problem with removing the r2d2 bootanination. I think it is causing my phone to not be able to update (still on 2.3.15). I have returned all aps back to ".apk" rather then" .bak" and yet failed update. What do you suggest I do? I also have the r2d2 lockscreen.
  2. gunz.jones
    Offline

    gunz.jones New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Backup to stock if you made one. Sbf otherwise, unless you have the stock rom you can grab the parts out of.

    Sent from a D2G Dark Angel
  3. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    You need to get the stock dx animation, go into root explorer. Next go to data/local and replace the r2d2 animation with the dx stock one. That should get it back

    From my Liberated DROID2 at 1.25ghz
  4. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Yeah if it's just the animation that's one thing, but if you modded a lot of stuff I would sbf to be safe

    From my Liberated DROID2 at 1.25ghz
  5. JCent105
    Offline

    JCent105 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I guess I will be buying rootexplorer then haha was hoping to use terminal emulator, any idea why it wont update?
  6. gunz.jones
    Offline

    gunz.jones New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    File sizes don't check out.

    Sent from a D2G Dark Angel
  7. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Check your pm box

    From my Liberated DROID2 at 1.25ghz
  8. JCent105
    Offline

    JCent105 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I placed the Dx animation zip there and nothing changed

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  9. gunz.jones
    Offline

    gunz.jones New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I suggest sbf if you're trying to get ota....or wait for a rooted flash.

    Sent from a D2G Dark Angel
  10. JCent105
    Offline

    JCent105 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Forgive me I haven't been up to speed with lingo haha What does sbf mean?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  11. gunz.jones
    Offline

    gunz.jones New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's a complete system reflash back to stock through an .sbf file. You need rsdlite 4.9 and the flash file...plus the current moto drivers. There's a whole write up on sbf as well as a handy tool for the dx that was linked through droid life......you really weren't prepared to swim when you jumped into the pool if you rooted and rommed without knowledge on how to CYA if it got too deep.

    Sent from a D2G Dark Angel
  12. JCent105
    Offline

    JCent105 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Got it....thank you!

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  13. Dr. Carpenter
    Offline

    Dr. Carpenter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    496
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The stock animation goes in system/media. Make sure there are no animations in data/local. If you still can't get the update, the animation wasn't the problem and you'll probably have to sbf.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums