Change Boot Animation

Discussion in 'Koush' started by atcjeff, Sep 8, 2010.

  1. atcjeff

    atcjeff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am trying to change my boot animation. It should be simple but it is driving me crazy. I want to install the R2D2 bootanimation. I have downloaded the file, copied it into data/local and no change. copied into system/media and the animation changed but not to the new one. It went from the CM6 boot animation to the 928 black glass boot animation. I have now deleted the bootanimation.zip file from system/media and only have the file in data/local but still get the 928 animation and not the new R2D2 animation. Anyone have suggestions on where else to look to change this file?
     
  2. Bear in NM

    Bear in NM Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,389
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +1
    ATC,

    I have deleted the cm6 animation, and right now have none installed in data/local so I get a simple Android bar, so there is a default base one that is stored someplace hidden. If you have deleted the cm6 and are getting the 928, then I would try using root explorer or some such searching method for boot*.* and see what comes up. You also might try changing the permissions on the one you are putting in data/local to see if that helps.

    Craig
     
  3. Deuel

    Deuel Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    SoCal
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sounds like the R2D2 boot animation is not named correctly. If you copied it to /data/local and it didn't overwrite the 928 boot animation, it's not named bootanimation.zip. Maybe it's mistakenly named bootanimation.zip.zip?
     
  4. DF Smod

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,455
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +92
    Quite possibly the bootanimation.zip is zipped up within another .zip file and needs to be extracted first
     
  5. Warrior

    Warrior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    There is another bootanimation.zip within the r2d2 folder. That is the one you need.
     
  6. TechJPC

    TechJPC Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think you have to install the zip it through recovery with this bootanimation
     
  7. kevdog

    kevdog Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you post the link to this boot animation, I'll troubleshoot. This is an easy problem.
     
  8. Warrior

    Warrior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    All I did was take the bootanimation.zip within the folder and put it in data/local. I now have the boot animation. The install might be for the sound that comes with it but the D1 cannot play sound on boot up so it doesn't matter.
     
Search tags for this page

boot animation cm6

,

bootanimation cm6