Questions to Rezound Owners

Discussion in 'HTC Rezound' started by MightyT01, Nov 15, 2011.

  1. MightyT01

    MightyT01 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Just played with the Rezound today at the VZW store and I must say I am very impressed. It is now my second choice over the GNex. The RAZR is just too damn wide for my small hands and too thin. Compared to my OG Droid, the Rezound felt like I was at home holding it and navigating through it one handed. I was very surprised at how much I liked it. I have a few questions to current Rezound owners.

    1. If you switched from a Razr, how does the Rezound compare, especially when using the phone one-handed?

    2. Can you replace the Sense UI 3.5 with a more plain launcher like Launcher Pro, ADW or Gingerbread UI, without rooting?

    3. Have you experienced any lags or lockups navigating?

    4. I was really impressed with the camera in store, how does it perform in real life?

    If the GNex turns out to be too big for me then the Rezound is my fallback option. Definitely do not like the Razr, simply because it's too wide and thin for comfortable one-handed use for anyone with small hands. Great specs but poor design. I actually prefer the Bionic over the Razr just for that reason.
     
  2. drtnsnw

    drtnsnw Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    There aren't any roms yet so you are stuck with sense for now. They are working on root right now. I have done alot of stuff with it Nd have had no lockups.
    From my Rockin Rezound
     
  3. fobpartisan

    fobpartisan Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Seattle WA
    Ratings:
    +3
    If you instal Launcher pro does that replace sence? I really cant stand the way sence works. Just want a good phone with launcher pro on it.
     
  4. Et3rnalbattl3

    Et3rnalbattl3 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, launcher pro replaces sense
     
  5. nelamvr6

    nelamvr6 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New London, CT USA
    Ratings:
    +12
    I can only address questions 3 and 4:

    3: No lockups at all, very smooth, very fast!

    4: The camera is amazing! It takes better photos than my Canon stand-alone camera! The panorama mode is really cool!
     
  6. MightyT01

    MightyT01 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Searched youtube last night and there was an option in your app settings for sense to basically disable it. Although the video was a year old. Next time I'm in the VZW store I'll check it out, unless a current rezound owner wants to try. You can easily restore Sense. It appears to be done in a way similar to launcher pro, which is what I use.

    I think the Rezound is quite the sleeper hit with all the hype of the GNex and Razr. Very nice phone and amazing HD screen.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  7. atomicwedgie

    atomicwedgie Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Long Island NY
    Ratings:
    +1
    Haven't used it for Nav yet but I have already done as I do with all my phones... installed Go Launcher and all is well. Sense isn't bad I just like Go because I can create a JUNK folder to put all the bloatware crap into and clean up my icons.
     
  8. markwebb

    markwebb Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    812
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    CT
    Ratings:
    +11
    I am hearing reports Flash doesn't play well and it was a carryover from other HTC devices. I saw a video online somewhere (PhoneDog or one of those kind of sites) whose site had some Flash embedded and Flash wouldn't play.

    Is this true?
     
  9. atomicwedgie

    atomicwedgie Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Long Island NY
    Ratings:
    +1
    I just hit a few flash test pages and saw no issues.

    I even went to Phonedog.com and played several videos no problem.

    I will say that for a phone site, they don't even bother checking it your coming in on a mobile connection and load the full web page which is slow as hell.
     
  10. nelamvr6

    nelamvr6 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New London, CT USA
    Ratings:
    +12
    I haven't had a single issue with flash playing.
     
  11. jntdroid

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,439
    Likes Received:
    295
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +295
    can you link that? I doubt that will be there on the Rezound
     
  12. MightyT01

    MightyT01 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Here's a link. It's not the same vid I saw but it shows the exact same way to do it. I had to do this to go from stock Froyo launcher to launcher pro. Pretty easy, unless you forget how to do it. I'm not sure if this can still be done with Sense 3.5, that's why I asked the question.

     
  13. MightyT01

    MightyT01 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Good to hear. During my lunch break I went to the VZW store to try disabling HTC Sense in the manage app settings, similar to the video above. I couldn't get it to work or give me the choice to use stock Gingerbread launcher. I ran out of time to really play with it, so if Go Launcher successfully worked this may work for me and launcher pro. I like a very streamlined minimalist launcher and UI. Checked out the videos it came with and damn, that HD screen is nice.
     
  14. nelamvr6

    nelamvr6 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New London, CT USA
    Ratings:
    +12
    I just tried it, it didn't work for me. I never got the dialog box asking which launcher I wanted to use, it simply restarted Sense.
     
  15. jkhonea

    jkhonea DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3,015
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Snellville, GA
    Ratings:
    +20
    What kind of battery life are y'all seeing out of this phone? Been really curious about that. And if HTC ever truly fixed their charging glitch.
     
Search tags for this page

how to delete facebook on rezound

,

how to get rid of htc sense from verizon rezound

,

how to remove facebook app from htc rezound

,

how to remove facebook off htc rezound

,

how to uninstall facebook from htc rezound

,

htc rezound disabled ui

,

htc rezound remove sense ui

,

remove sense ui on htc rezound

,

tes page to rezound phone

,

turning off htc sense on rezound