1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Question about Google Maps

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Niffa, Jan 30, 2010.

  1. Niffa
    Offline

    Niffa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can anyone tell me why on the map app it almost alwaysd gives me "current location is temporarily unavailable". It has been able to find me only once.
  2. natediddy1120
    Offline

    natediddy1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ???
    Do you have your GPS turned on whenever you open Maps?
  3. Niffa
    Offline

    Niffa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hhmm, I have no idea....how do I find out. Maybe I turned it off and didn't know or mean to.
  4. alm0614
    Offline

    alm0614 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    under settings on google you have to enable use my location
  5. Niffa
    Offline

    Niffa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Okay so I went under setting on my phone and found the thing that said for GPS satellite, it was checked (?) But I can't get a location even in area that I did before.
  6. ShowTime
    Offline

    ShowTime New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That has nothing to do with the GPS feature being able to find him. That only allows websites in the browser to locate you, enabling searches to find local restaurants, shops, etc.
    OP, if you have GPS on (menu>settings>locations and security>use GPS satellites) then I'm not sure what the problem could be. Where are you located? I'm assuming you've tried it both inside and outside in various locations? I've never gotten this message so I'm not sure what's going on....
  7. takeshi
    Offline

    takeshi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,600
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You definitely need to be outdoors for GPS but it should triangulate even if it can't get a GPS lock.
  8. NickWgnr
    Offline

    NickWgnr New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SoYoCO
    You need to have Use Wireless Networks and Use GPS Satellites enabled for this feature to work everywhere. Otherwise you pretty much need to be outside or right by a window. I had the Use Wireless Networks off because I thought it would keep Wifi on but it doesn't. But I had the same problem so I was messing around with it and saw that so I turned it back on and BAM it works.
    Simplified Steps:
    Menu Soft Key>Settings>Location & Security> Select the first two options ( Use Wireless Networks and Use GPS Satellites)



    Wagner :motdroidvert:
  9. Niffa
    Offline

    Niffa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I got it, I got it! Thanks guys I had the GPS selected but not wireless network. Thanks guys!
  10. Niffa
    Offline

    Niffa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wait nope, I was wrong! Well now I can get a location but its wrong! It has me out in the water! Any way to recalibrate it or anything?
  11. allikanbe
    Offline

    allikanbe New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Yorktown, VA
    No, you are going to have to get in the water. There is a free app called GPSTest that you can download. It shows how many satellites are in view and you are connected to. Once in a while my location is off by a small distance and usually the sats are not in view. Other times, my location is inside my living room and it moves as I go from room to room. freaky.
  12. KevinJ
    Offline

    KevinJ Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Earth
    The only time I am "off" in location is if I have the "Use Wireless Networks" on. Last time I tried it with both WN and GPS it located me 3 miles from where I actually was.

    So after that I never have it turned on, and my GPS accuracy is 6 ft many times.
Search tags for this page

do you need google location enabled to be abe to use gps

,

google maps location unavailable s3

,

why my samsungs gh-1927 said your current location is tempor