problems installing custom roms on to my phone!

Discussion in 'Droid 2 Roms' started by andrew92, Oct 31, 2010.

  1. andrew92

    andrew92 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    so i recently just rooted my phone and downloaded droid 2 boot strap and all that stuff. So i tried installing Fission Vanilla 1.2 yesterday. I downloaded the zip file and moved it to the root of my sd card. I used droid 2 bootstrap to reboot into recovery and tried installing it from a zip there. Every time it says that installation is complete i reboot my phone and nothing has changed.
    Is there something that I didn't do or missing?
     
  2. Cloppy

    Cloppy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    did you mount the system in the custom recovery?
     
  3. andrew92

    andrew92 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    no i did not. how do you go about doing this?
     
  4. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
  5. andrew92

    andrew92 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok i mounted the system in system recovery and i re installed the rom.
    After rebooting the phones just stuck on an android screen that just shines and it wont go past that. did i just possibly brick my phone?
     
  6. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    I doubt it. Did you wipe the data and cache?
     
  7. andrew92

    andrew92 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    no i didnt should i try and do that now? or just go back into a backup i made clear the data and cache and reinstall
     
  8. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Keep the backup.

    In recovery do the wipe (data and cache) then reinstall the rom
     
  9. andrew92

    andrew92 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    im trying to reboot into recovery now but i cant get past the load screen. I tried pulling the battery and holding x while my phone reboots but it wont go past the android screen with a triangle with an exclamation point. Any suggestions?
     
  10. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    It appears that you lost root. What did you use to root your phone?
     
  11. andrew92

    andrew92 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    i used the one click root method. should i proceed to re root the phone?
     
  12. andrew92

    andrew92 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    i used the one click root method from darkonion. should i try and re root my phone?
     
Search tags for this page

why my motorola droid wont install my custom rom

,

why wont my custom rom install