Pretty sure I just bricked my droid

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by RubberSoul, Mar 30, 2010.

  1. RubberSoul

    RubberSoul Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    LOL this is a bummer for sure. I was trying to go back to stock 2.0.1 from ultimate droid rom. I tried using the dm installer and my rom manager, something happend and I accidentally stopped it during its dwnlding screen.....anyhow long story short, now it just keeps reebooting with the droid eye, and when I start it up and hold x it shows the exclamation point but theres no options ....Im screwed huh?
     
  2. Corinacakes

    Corinacakes DF Super Moderator Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,009
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Maine
    Ratings:
    +3
    No you aren't bricked..you will be fine as soon as some one smarter than me answers. Trust me
     
  3. Corinacakes

    Corinacakes DF Super Moderator Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,009
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Maine
    Ratings:
    +3
    actually until someone does at least pull yur battery and let it sit for a min then put it back in and try rebooting in recovery again
     
  4. baniels

    baniels Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    574
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    52556
    Ratings:
    +0
    It shows the exclamation point with no options?

    Have you pushed the camera button and volume up button at the same time? You need to do that to get options within stock recovery.
     
  5. pc747

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    19,480
    Likes Received:
    2,185
    Trophy Points:
    1,078
    Ratings:
    +2,308
    If it reboots it is not bricked. As baniels stated you can access the stock recovery menu.
     
  6. pc747

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    19,480
    Likes Received:
    2,185
    Trophy Points:
    1,078
    Ratings:
    +2,308
    [​IMG]

    11. Scroll down to "apply sdcard:update.zip" using your d-pad keys
    [​IMG]
     
  7. Flomaster

    Flomaster Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    East Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    Download this file onto your computer and rename it to "update.zip" (withought quotes) and get it to your sdcard.

    Boot into recovery and select "install zip from sdcard", selecting this file.

    This should bring you back to stock, with NO ROOT.

    I hold no responsibility for any mayhem that may result from using this file! Use at your own risk!

    Please let me know how you make out!

    Good luck,

    -=Jason=-

    once in recovery you probably have to mount your USB to allow you to transfer update.zip to your sdcard
     
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2010
  8. pc747

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    19,480
    Likes Received:
    2,185
    Trophy Points:
    1,078
    Ratings:
    +2,308
    then wipe data/ factory reset.
     
  9. cereal killer

    cereal killer DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,236
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +1,052
    Current Phone Model:
    Nokia Lumia Icon
    Moved to the Rescue Squad area.....

    I see you've already gotten some help.

    Good luck Rubber Soul
     
  10. RubberSoul

    RubberSoul Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks man I did the volume and camera and then just did stock recovery
    ....but its still rooted.....ninja man is still there, how can i get rid of this...
     
  11. Tanknspank

    Tanknspank Beta Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is their an option to mount your Droid from the Stock Recov? If so you can get those update.zips over to your phone that way. If not, you'll need a microSD Card Reader.
     
  12. RubberSoul

    RubberSoul Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    trying the update.zip thanks flomaster and all you awsome dudes.
     
  13. jstafford1

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,933
    Likes Received:
    677
    Trophy Points:
    228
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +733
    Twitter:
    jstaff79


    Don't worry if this doesn't work. We have 0 bricked Droids around here and we're gonna keep it that way. There's always a way to fix it. You still have options if the update.zip doesn't work.
     
  14. pc747

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    19,480
    Likes Received:
    2,185
    Trophy Points:
    1,078
    Ratings:
    +2,308
  15. RubberSoul

    RubberSoul Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    AWSOME!!!!!!!!!!!!! It worked!!!!!! Thanks for all your help guys! You all should know that you really made my day and saved my butt! Now Im going to just sit back and wait for the update!!!!!!!!!! should I delete the update.zip from my sdcard? Thanks again guys you rock!