Possible to unroot?

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Hacks' started by J5311, Sep 8, 2011.

  1. J5311

    J5311 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NJ
    Ratings:
    +1
    i am wondering if it is possible to un root after rooting. my main concern is if i ever have to turn it in to verizon for repairs
     
  2. bigtex52

    bigtex52 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Big D little a double-L A S
    Ratings:
    +3
    I'm with you there!


    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  3. WildcatTM

    WildcatTM New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would like to know, too. I just picked up the phone. I want to root it just to get rid of all the bloatware, but I don't want to overstep so soon. Really, what I would like to do is root, uninstall the bloatware, then unroot. Is that possible, yet?
     
  4. anuraj1

    anuraj1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    AZ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, with this oneclickroot, you can also choose to unroot:

    Pete's Motorola Root Tools

    EDIT: I
    just unrooted because I started suddenly experiencing freeze-ups which required a battery pull each time. Unroot button fails unless you choose "temporary root" first and then click unroot.
     
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2011
  5. dmacarth

    dmacarth New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have you been able to confirm the freeze ups were due to root and therefore recommend not rooting?

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  6. Jungle King 76

    Jungle King 76 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    927
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Back and forth between AZ and PA
    Ratings:
    +13
    Rooted mine and have not had any issues or freezes. Changed my boot animation which is the main reason I wanted to root right now.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  7. anuraj1

    anuraj1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    AZ
    Ratings:
    +0
    I believe the freezing was from me messing around with SetCPU a little too much :). I would always recommend rooting, it is part of the greatness of Android :)

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  8. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    FWIW, the Droid 3 can be unrooted if you use the manual method, I'd be curious if the Bionic is the same.
     
  9. tech_head

    tech_head Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Western Hemisphere
    Ratings:
    +52
    No problems after rooting.
     
  10. Arkbird

    Arkbird DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,748
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Northern Virginia/Washington DC
    Ratings:
    +62
  11. grrouchie

    grrouchie Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Ratings:
    +0
    I rooted mine as soon as I got home.

    I had an issue with the screen and used superoneclick to unroot before taking it back and exchanging it.
     
  12. anuraj1

    anuraj1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    AZ
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I messed up my phone a bit last night with SetCPU so I deleted my root apps and unrooted and everything is great again. BUT.... now the root tool can't root my phone again. Crap. Any ideas from anyone?

    EDIT: doing a factory reset to see if I can root after that.

    EDIT 2: The factory reset fixed it! Rooted again! Now I have to set everything up again :icon_evil:
     
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2011
  13. A.C.Sanchez

    A.C.Sanchez Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Tip for Unrooting

    I kept getting an ADB connection error when trying to unroot. Solution: slide the unlock when the phone reboots in between steps. Worked like a charm when I did that.
     
  14. fredGSX

    fredGSX New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I rooted, and wanted to verify unrooting would work. I had to slide the unlock between boots also for the unrooting. Now I can't get the phone to be rooted again, I keep getting an error at step 3 of 3.
     
  15. anuraj1

    anuraj1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    AZ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same thing happened to me, I had to factory reset to root again.
     
Search tags for this page
can unrooting is posible
,
does unrooting possible
,

is it possible to unroot a phone

,
is it possible to unroot a rooted phone
,
is it possible to unroot phone
,
is it possible to unroot your phone
,
is unrooting phones possible
,

is unrooting possible

,
is unrooting possible after root
,
possible to unroot android phone?