1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

possible to restore old backups?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by islander90, Jul 11, 2011.

  1. islander90
    Offline

    islander90 New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So I'm getting a D3 soon, but I was thinking... if I backup my apps (and more importantly app data like game saves and stuff) using Titanium Backup, I won't be able to restore them on the D3 because it's not rooted, correct?

    So does anyone have any good solutions to backup up data like that and restoring without root?

    TIA!
  2. Raptor007
    Offline

    Raptor007 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    Until it's rooted you won't be able to use titanium backups, devs are working, its just a matter of time until they find an exploit.
  3. creaky
    Offline

    creaky Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    517
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NY
    My backup pro doesn't require root.

    sent from my Cyanogenmodded X
  4. islander90
    Offline

    islander90 New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    does it definitely do what I want it to do? I tried a few free "backup" apps last night and they all seem to just basically save the apk file but none of the data along with it. I was testing with Angry Birds..... backup, uninstall, restore, and see if my game progress is saved. My Backup Pro is $5; is it worth it and will it do what I want?
  5. creaky
    Offline

    creaky Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    517
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NY
    You can backup apps, data, and photos on my backup pro either to your SD card or to a remote server. You do not need root to do this. Ultimately, I think Titanium Backup Pro is better but you need root for that. I got MBP in case of a disaster where I could not obtain root after an sbf, etc.
  6. islander90
    Offline

    islander90 New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I hadn't really read in-depth about MBP earlier, but I just saw on their info page that it says "NOTE: Data/setting of applications can only be supported if you have a rooted phone, or if the application integrates with us."

    So it would let me backup all the data, but without root on the D3, it probably wouldn't let me restore the data. I'll probably just go through all my apps and figure out which ones need data backed up. Angry Birds has apps that support savegames and restores... and a few of my apps like aCar and ColorNote have internal backup abilities. I just gotta go through my 180+ apps and figure out which ones I actually CARE about.

    Thanks for the tip though; I may still try MBP out to just see what it's capable of. we'll see.
Search tags for this page
acar backup
,
backup and restore android earlier date
,
color note wont restore
,
color notes will not recover backup on s4
,
colornote backup location
,

colornote restore

,
how to restore color note android
,
how to restore color note on android
,
restore android to earlier date
,
restore colornote after reformatting galaxy s4