possible to flash kernel in recovery?

Discussion in 'HTC Droid DNA Development' started by BuzzKillBob, Feb 25, 2013.

  1. BuzzKillBob
    Offline

    BuzzKillBob New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Like title says,I'm wondering if its possible to dl a kernel,then just boot in recovery and flash a .zip file that way... I really only use adb when I have to. I'm lazy like that.
  2. BuzzKillBob
    Offline

    BuzzKillBob New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello? Anyone on here?
  3. lloydstrans
    Offline

    lloydstrans Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    9,846
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    48
    No just us pesty cats.

    If it's not HD it might as well be a newspaper.
  4. myfishbear
    Offline

    myfishbear Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    in the sea. sometimes on land as well
    you need to unlock and s-off your phone for that.
  5. BuzzKillBob
    Offline

    BuzzKillBob New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am now s-off. I like the stock set up but I'm wanting to take the ota w/o losing unlock,root,and s-off.
  6. myfishbear
    Offline

    myfishbear Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    in the sea. sometimes on land as well
    flash the new radio file then install myRom or any Rom based off the update and flash the boot.img in fastboot
  7. dhemke17
    Offline

    dhemke17 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you are still completely stock besides recovery and having superuser, you can put the stock recovery back, select unroot in settings of superuser app and take the ota...then reflash custom recovery reflash supersu zip file

    Sent from my HTC6435LVW using Tapatalk 2
  8. myfishbear
    Offline

    myfishbear Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    in the sea. sometimes on land as well
    yeah but you loose s-off and you bootloader unlock if you do it that way. already made that mistake and had to ruu the original version. then re root, re unlock, soff it again, flash the new kern in fastboot, flash the radio in fastboot, then reflash recovery, then wipe my data and system and install a updated rom to get the update and all the perks(my rom is based off the update when i had s-on and did that upgrade)
  9. dhemke17
    Offline

    dhemke17 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yea....you definitely don't lose s off or your bootloader unlock... That is the exact way I did it. The ota didn't update the bootloader

    Sent from my HTC6435LVW using Tapatalk 2
  10. myfishbear
    Offline

    myfishbear Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    in the sea. sometimes on land as well
    ok lol I guess I'm wrong... Well I didn'thave soff when did the ota and couldn't achieve it with the update and had to ruu and soff it on original firmware then I applied the parts of the ota I wanted.
  11. BuzzKillBob
    Offline

    BuzzKillBob New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok...so I got the kernel flashed and now my hotspot is broken. :( did I do something wrong?
  12. myfishbear
    Offline

    myfishbear Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    in the sea. sometimes on land as well
    idk what os version or rom are u running? are u using its matching kernel?
  13. BuzzKillBob
    Offline

    BuzzKillBob New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think I got it. I'm using the Rom and kernel from your dl page.
  14. BuzzKillBob
    Offline

    BuzzKillBob New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Or maybe not. Hotspot is still broken. Says it turns on but nothing recognizes it. Not my pc,ps3,or my resound.
  15. BuzzKillBob
    Offline

    BuzzKillBob New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm also getting the occasional screen flicker as another user stated in another post. I'm looking into the problem but not finding much in the way of a solution.
  16. BuzzKillBob
    Offline

    BuzzKillBob New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So I decided (on a gut feeling) that it was a kernel problem. So I found a stock updated kernel for s-off and installed that using the flash img app. Working great now on your Rom. Btw,awesome Rom you got here. The font is a little odd to get used to reading but I can deal with it. But anyway, tether works now,no screen flicker,and everything else is just dandy. Thanks for the help you have given. Can't wait to see what else you will create (maybe font options?)
  17. BuzzKillBob
    Offline

    BuzzKillBob New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This new kernel blows something serious. I can't even make it through one game of black ops without it disconnecting from psn. Never had this problem before. I also notice my data arrows don't work. At all. How can I fix this?
  18. myfishbear
    Offline

    myfishbear Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    in the sea. sometimes on land as well
    1. did u flash the updated radio file?
    2. did u restore data after installing the rom or forget to wipe everything before installing it?
    3. to change fonts dl rom toolbox off of play
  19. BuzzKillBob
    Offline

    BuzzKillBob New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    1 yes
    2 I didn't restore anything. I just started from scratch.
    3 thank you,will do.
  20. BuzzKillBob
    Offline

    BuzzKillBob New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    And is there a way to view the data inside a twrp data.ext4 file? I need phone numbers in it and I don't want to re flash everything.
Search tags for this page

* failed to write data protocol fault (no status) *

,

adb sideload failed to write data

,
adb sideload protocol fault
,
failed to write data 'protocol fault (no status)
,
failed to write data protocol fault
,

failed to write data protocol fault (no status)

,
flash kernel android
,

flash kernel from recovery

,
flash kernel through recovery
,

how to flash a kernel

,
how to flash a kernel in recovery
,

how to flash kernel