1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

please, please help me. havening troulble with ROM manager

Discussion in 'Motorola Milestone' started by murytury, Dec 18, 2010.

  1. murytury
    Offline

    murytury New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    romania
    hey there. i really need some help. I am trying to get into clockwork recovery with ROM manager and i'm having a lot of trouble. i am new in "android world". i got my milestone about a month ago and a few days ago managed to get to android 2.2.1 after 17 hours. now i'm trying to get cyanogenmod instaled but i can't get pass the clockwork system recovery. in ROM manager i get:
    Flash ClockworkMod Recovery
    current recovery: clockworkmod 2.5.0.1

    when i try to download clockwork 2.5.0.4 says that an error occured but this is not the big problem. it doesn't get into clockwork recovery.
    when i reebot into recovery something loads |(a yellow bar) like 25 percent then it reebots into android, if i try to get in system recovery manual ("X" plus power button) it goes to original system recovery <2e>. please help me
  2. CJM
    Online

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,231
    Likes Received:
    502
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    What version of rom manager do you have? Also, saw this on twitter, maybe this might help - clockworkmod: To flash a recovery manually in the meantime, you can visit this link: My Brain Hurts: ROM Manager and Clockwork Recovery Image . I'll be resolving the downtime on ROM Manager. (about 19 hours ago from Tweetie for Mac)

    BTW, Welcome to the forum.
  3. murytury
    Offline

    murytury New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    romania
    hey. i am using rom manager v2.5.1.7. i tryed to download the .zip file from the link u gave me and i put it on my root in sd card, rename it to update and tryed to install it from original system recovery but it aborts instalation
  4. CJM
    Online

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,231
    Likes Received:
    502
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Have you tried flashing SPRecovery using RM.
  5. *22899
    Offline

    *22899 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Its good to be familiar with Sprecovery everyone. For the all the times that Rom manager has trouble. Rom manager has to have down time to keep up with everything coming out on all different phones. Sprecovery will never let you down or be to busy to flash a ROM. It takes a few extra steps but is extremely effective and reliable.
  6. murytury
    Offline

    murytury New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    romania
    yes, i did but the problem is in rsd lite says connot flash, fail.
    damn this is so hard
  7. *22899
    Offline

    *22899 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    You can flash sprecovery via RM its towards the bottom. It says flash alternate recovery. Its easier then rsdlite
  8. murytury
    Offline

    murytury New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    romania
    thaks but in rm that button its inactive. i guess i have to put the sbf file on sdcard?
  9. CJM
    Online

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,231
    Likes Received:
    502
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Do you have RM premium
  10. murytury
    Offline

    murytury New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    romania
    that's the only way? i tried flashing sprecovery with rdslite but it keeps failing. i ted all the forums with no luck. i guess thats it. i'll stick with 2.2.1
  11. murytury
    Offline

    murytury New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    romania
    i gor ROM manager premium v2.5.1.7 still no alternate recovery available
  12. murytury
    Offline

    murytury New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    romania
    i got rom manager premium but still no alternate recovery available
  13. murytury
    Offline

    murytury New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    romania
    i even tried with adb tools to get it. i got a recovery.img but when i type this command "fastboot flash recovery recovery.img" says <waiting for devices> although before it recognized my phone.
  14. applesauce999
    Offline

    applesauce999 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    if you have Milestone you cant do any of this stuff. rom manager is not going to work. clockwork mod is not going to work. all of that stuff is for the Droid. the milestone has a locked bootloader. you have to do other things to work around it.
  15. trn5407
    Offline

    trn5407 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    rom manger dosent show alternate recovery?

    Same thing here, have a droid1 and installed rom manager and it says no alternate recovery is available???
  16. CJM
    Online

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,231
    Likes Received:
    502
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    This is what I'm seeing in RM premium v3.0.0.1. The second picture is after you press it.

    Attached Files:

  17. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    CyanogenMod 6.1.0 for Milestone | android.doshaska.net

    Otherwise, yeah, no joy for your Milestone. Want to know why? THE MILESTONE AND THE DROID 1 ARE TWO COMPLETELY DIFFERENT PHONES WITH SOME SIMILAR HARDWARE!

    Treating it like a D1 will get you nowhere. Thanks for everyone trying to help, but you just can't do that.
  18. nornevrder
    Offline

    nornevrder New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Alaska
    Hmmm I have a milestone 854 rooted it through universalandroot I have had Onix rom installed through ROM manager and am now running UD 2.5 that I downloaded off this sight and flashed through ROM manager. I have no problems at all other than not being able to send picture text. I am a happy camper though
Search tags for this page
milestone 2 rom manager
,

rom manager

,
rom manager recovery milestone