1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Phone updated itself to leaked Froyo?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by cypherx82, Sep 27, 2010.

  1. cypherx82
    Offline

    cypherx82 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Sorry if this has been discussed before but I don't have time to search right now.

    I was messing around in settings on my rooted, themed, 2.1 update 1 Droid X when I noticed in info it was listing my firmware version number as 2.2 and my system version as 2.3.9.

    I never installed the leaked Froyo.

    Since my OTA certs were renamed (wouldn't matter unless they were pushing leaked Froyo) and I still have root, I suspect this is just a glitch in settings.

    Is this common? Thanks.

    http://tapa.tk/mu/61fa92bd-80d6-578b.jpg

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
  2. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    That seems very strange to me. I haven't seen an X yet that took the update if it was rooted. So you're showing 2.2 but still have a SU Ninja?
  3. cypherx82
    Offline

    cypherx82 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I have the SU ninja and root apps still work.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
  4. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Huh! Everyone else has to remove the root. It doesn't make sense. Why would your Droid be different?

    I'm not saying horse manure. I just can't get a grip on how this could have happened. I know that on a regular Droid if you try to avoid the update for so long it will install itself, provided you are not rooted. I've seen some rooted people with the D1 who somehow managed to install FRG022D and unroot their phone's, but I haven't seen this.
  5. hallb
    Offline

    hallb New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My rooted droid x also updated itself successfully last night. I'd been telling it later every time it was asking me if I wanted to update. Woke up this morning saying it had been updated. It definitely is 2.2. Appears like I need to root again though.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
  6. isired
    Offline

    isired New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    if you rooted but didn't remove any of the stock software or install a ROM, it will update - at least that was my experience. You will lose root access though.
  7. spider210
    Offline

    spider210 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    But ota updating to a leaked version doesn't sound right

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
  8. cypherx82
    Offline

    cypherx82 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I didn't do anything. It just updated itself.

    Also, I still have root.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
  9. isired
    Offline

    isired New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    did you ever download one of the leaked froyo's? maybe to your SD card?
  10. cypherx82
    Offline

    cypherx82 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Nope.

    Besides, I would have lost root, right?

    I have bootstrapper but all I've done is make Nandroid backups. I've never run an update.zip.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
  11. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    How's it working for you?
  12. isired
    Offline

    isired New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not if you installed the leaked froyo - one of the major changes between the leaked vs. release version was locking it down.

    The reason I ask is that I downloaded the leaked froyo, but never installed, but today when I did the cache wipe, as suggested in other threads/forums, when I booted into the restore screen, it asked me if I wanted to install "update.zip" from the SD card. So I was thinking that maybe your OTA update got messed up because of a leaked Froyo update file on your SD card.
  13. cypherx82
    Offline

    cypherx82 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    But I'm almost positive I never downloaded the leak.

    Also, I went into Quadrant to see what it had to say about my version, and this is what I found.

    [​IMG]

    Is this saying I'm running Droid 1 firmware?

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
  14. cypherx82
    Offline

    cypherx82 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Everything works fine, but I'm still getting around 1200 in Quadrant, which is what I got with 2.1.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
  15. cypherx82
    Offline

    cypherx82 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Does anyone have any more advice? Normally I wouldn't care, but this is preventing me from updating to real Froyo. It tells me no updates are available since it thinks I'm on 2.2.
  16. ramz
    Offline

    ramz New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did you install one of the modified build.props?
  17. cypherx82
    Offline

    cypherx82 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Actually, yes. Could that have done it?
  18. donballz
    Offline

    donballz New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Try to run a flash page. It may just have been changed in the framework documentation but you don't really have froyo.

    shutupwomangetonmyhorse.com is a fun one to try.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
  19. cypherx82
    Offline

    cypherx82 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    No flash sites work. So how do I get myself back to 2.1 and on to OTA Froyo?

    Sent from my DROIDX using TapatWalk
  20. donballz
    Offline

    donballz New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I.... I thought the point if this thread was you already have the ota? Im confused. You need to be sure what happened cause if you sbf your ota you'll have yourself a six hundo paperweight.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk