1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

OCing question.

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by Lunatics, Mar 18, 2011.

  1. Lunatics
    Offline

    Lunatics New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I downloaded setCPU the other day from the market but I'm not sure how to go about using it. The bar caps out at 1.2ghz so I was wondering what do you have to do or how do you go about actually over clocking it? Or better yet, are there any good guides out there on how to set it up and set up profiles for either the global or just in general?
  2. Skull One
    Offline

    Skull One New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    760
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
  3. biknut1
    Offline

    biknut1 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, K
    SetCPU

    Look on this DF forum, D2G, My Battery Life Write Up Sticky. NiceGuysFinishLast has done an excellent job on explaining how to use SetCPU, as well as some other settings if you are looking to save battery life.
  4. dbst
    Offline

    dbst New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    You will need an actual overclocking app like Quickclock or JRummy's Droid Overclock, SetCPU is used for setting frequencies and using profiles
  5. leobg
    Offline

    leobg Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    JRummy's Droid Overclock can perform same function as SetCPU, including profiles and all that. Overclocking function does not work very well for me. I am actually using the profiles option only to underclock under certain conditions, which actually gives me on average 25% longer battery life compared to stock. I use jrummys as I had paid for it anyways already.
    If you need profiles only, SetCPU is the way to go, if you want to try over/under-volting/clocking- droid overclock by JRummy. Again - D2G support is not stable, at best...

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL
  6. dbst
    Offline

    dbst New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    Yea but SetCPU can't actually overclock like JRummy's app or quickclock

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  7. Lunatics
    Offline

    Lunatics New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I downloaded JRummys app however I think I'm just retarded. I got profiles working in it and set cpu and what not, however the cap is always at 1.2 ghz. What am I missing to do the actual OCing?
  8. wakeskater17
    Offline

    wakeskater17 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You can't overclock the D2G with setcpu. You can underclock it, and set profiles, but no overclocking or changing voltages.

    I think the only way to OC it is to use jrummy's app. I'm not 100% sure about that though, there may other apps.
  9. leobg
    Offline

    leobg Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I believe you need to enable experimental module in settings in order to be able to OC the D2G.
    I,however, never had success with overclocking. But phone is fast enough to not require any overclocking IMO. As I said I ended up using profiles part only of JRummy's app.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL