No Netfilter on wireless tethering

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by terraglide, May 16, 2010.

  1. terraglide

    terraglide New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm using a droid running 2.1 w/bb 1.0. when I launch wireless tether app
    I get the error message "no netfilter! sorry, but your kernel does not have all necessary features for running this application." Then if i choose ignore and proceed, I get another message "couldnt install file-/data/data/android.tether/bin/dnsmasq!
     
  2. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Did you verify that the kernel you installed supports tethering?

    Mike
     
  3. terraglide

    terraglide New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's bugless beast 1.0, i believe it does
     
  4. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
  5. LtKen

    LtKen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,628
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +3
    I'd reflash, and pull down a different version of Wifi Tether. That error seems consistent with a versioning problem between Tether and the kernel.

    I'm running Wifi Tether version 2.0 on BB1.0 with the 1.1Ghz Bekit LV kernel. You should be able to do the same...
     
  6. terraglide

    terraglide New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok I guess re flashing sounds like the thing to do, I'll report after i'm done.

    Thanks
     
  7. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    How did you make out?
     
  8. terraglide

    terraglide New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm making progress, but i'm not running yet. I get an error in the dropdown menu on the droid "wireless tether-AC disabled"
     
  9. terraglide

    terraglide New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I forgot to mention that i did a wipe & re flashed
     
  10. terraglide

    terraglide New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    when i go into wireless tether controls, it won't allow me to enable access controls
     
  11. LtKen

    LtKen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,628
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +3
    What version of Wifi Tether are you running? 2.0 works perfectly for me.
     
  12. mikeofmikes83

    mikeofmikes83 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been using barnacle and like it :D
     
  13. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Did you turn access enable on in the setup?
    Mike
     
  14. gbouten

    gbouten Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have been trying to help him and it seems that he has a problem with the super user. When I first install an app that needs root access it will ask me if I want to allow and there is a check mark that keeps me from being asked this again. He is not being asked this when he starts the program up. When you open the super user you can see a sort of log that shows what process that supper user is allowing. I have about four entries. He has none. so it is acting like Super user is not doing its thing. I can help him if you guys can give me your thoughts. You all have been a great help to me and I would like to take and acting part in helping someone else as he lives close to me. I kind of talked him into getting this phone.

    Greg
     
  15. gbouten

    gbouten Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    John if your out there it's Parker we are trying to help.

    Greg B
     
    Last edited: May 18, 2010
Search tags for this page
baixar para android 2.1 netfilter
,
droid razr netfilter kernel
,
how to enable netfilter android kernel
,
netfilter android
,

netfilter enabled kernel

,
netfilter enabled kernel android
,
netfilter kernel
,

netfilter-enabled kernel

,
no netfilter
,
no netfilter installed android 2.1