1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

No automatic network switching

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Tech Support' started by JohnInSC, Oct 28, 2011.

  1. JohnInSC
    Offline

    JohnInSC New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm trying to figure out why my bionic will not switch to 3G when 4G is not available. Any help would be appreciated.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  2. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    This is a known issue with some phones. It is supposedly going to be fixed with the early November OTA update. A leaked version of the rumored update (.893) is available and many, such as myself, have installed it and I can say that it has finally fixed my phone. I say "finally" because at first it didn't, but then I discovered that some other mods I had done were actually negatively impacting the switch. My phone now immediately goes to 3G when I turn off wifi. It will switch to 3G every time I switch the phone from cdma/lte to only cdma while in a 4G area.

    So, bottom line is that this bug will be fixed soon.
  3. JohnInSC
    Offline

    JohnInSC New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the info BayouFlyFisher. I think I will wait for the OTA update, since this is not a critical issue for me.
  4. JohnInSC
    Offline

    JohnInSC New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just happened to notice that my phone is automatically switching from 4G to 3G and back, so I guess the update fixed it!

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  5. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    I was in a 4G area today at lunch and I forced it to switch from 4G to 3G and back several times. It worked like a charm each time. I've done the 5.7.893 update too. Not sure it really provided anything new and different. It is reported as slightly improving the LTE radio in terms of strength of signal. I'm not in 4G enough to comment on that but others have reported having better signal strength.

    Good luck.
  6. xmguy
    Offline

    xmguy New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,070
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    RURAL TN
    Mine drops data all the time. After being in standby (screen off). After ending a call even drops randomly during use. Even dropped off as I was pulling up this thread. I'm in a CDMA / 3G only area. Forced CDMA. Strong signal.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
Search tags for this page

auto network switch android

,

droid mini 4g switch to 3g automatically?

,

my android will not automatically switch networks

,

no automatical network switch android

,

samsung note ii wont switch to 4g when wifi not availabe

,

what does auto network switch droid do