No 3G network can be seen

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by khnglau, Dec 26, 2010.

  1. khnglau
    Offline

    khnglau New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I used the unlock code to unlock my D2G and I am in Hong Kong using a local GSM sim card (PCCW 3G). But I can find only 2G network using 'Search networks' function. My setting is GSM/UMTS - Automatic. I have tried other phone using the same sim card and it can find 3G networks. I have typed *#*#4636#*#* and select radio band to USA band (in Phone info -> press menu button -> Select radio band -> USA Band) and it don't have any option for me(other than USA Band). I can see 3G network before and it seems to this problem appeared after I made the USA Band setting in *#*#4636#*#*. What's wrong with my setting? Or is Verizon lock my phone work only on 2G GSM? Can anyone help?:icon_ nono2:Thanks a lot.
  2. khnglau
    Offline

    khnglau New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have made the same setting again (*#*#4636#*#* -> Phone info -> press menu button -> Select radio band -> USA Band) and no more network is available now (even 2G network). So I think the setting blocks all the network other from USA radio band. But how can I set it back? Help!!!!:mad:
  3. rafeee2
    Offline

    rafeee2 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have the exact same problem(s) on my Droid Pro in Kuwait, using a local SIM card. Currently I have no network at all! Any ideas guys?
  4. silver6054
    Offline

    silver6054 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does moving the setting back to "Global" help? (I would think that it would still respect the settings you made for GSM, but maybe not).

    Or, to sound like a Verizon Wireless customer service rep, factory reset?
  5. leobg
    Online

    leobg Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    What ROM's are you guys running? I don't see "USA Band" anywhere in that manu?
  6. rafeee2
    Offline

    rafeee2 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm running stock ROM updated with the latest software update.
    I tried factory reset and now I can make calls and SMS again, but still no data connection.
  7. silver6054
    Offline

    silver6054 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi, I can't tell from the post if you also did the *#*#4636#*#* menu thing and it then stopped working, or if you haven't had a working data connection before.

    If it never worked, you probably need to set up the Access Point names for your local SIM. (Settings>Wireless & networks>Mobile Networks. Make sure Network Mode is set to GSM and then go to the Access Point names section. Menu button to add a new APN).

    And, if you did a factory reset, that wipes out any APNs that you set.
  8. rafeee2
    Offline

    rafeee2 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It never worked, and the APN is defined with the same parameters that I have on a Motorola Defy that's having no data connection issues whatsoever.

    Also when I dial *#*#4636#*#* and go to Phone Info and then Select Radio Band, I only find USA Band. No Euro, Auto, Japan, etc.. I think this is not correct.
Search tags for this page
*#*#4636#*#* 3g not working t-mobile hong kong note 2
,

*#*#4636#*#* select radio band

,
*#*#4636#*#* usa band
,
3g does not work usa band motorola after choose
,
4636 usa band
,
android *#*#4636#*#* set gsm/umts band
,

droid 4 radio

,
droid pro no 3g international
,
galaxy s3 no data connection on pageplus
,

how to set up 3g on droid 2

,

motorola defy no 3g connection

,
motorola defy plus 3g connection lost
,
new motorola defy no 3g
,
no 3g on droid pro
,

safetrap radio