1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

No 3g connection?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by robstabspeople, Jun 22, 2011.

  1. robstabspeople
    Offline

    robstabspeople New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Have been using phone all day on 3g and wifi then all of a sudden it won't connect to 3g, therefore no sms or mms or internet. Can only use internet on wifi. Had this problem before and couldn't find a solution. Next morning, it was fixed. Any answers to why?

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using Tapatalk
  2. satoru
    Offline

    satoru New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    jupiter X.x
    Try turning airplane mode on then off. Should get you a better connection. I had something similar happen and that fixed it.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  3. robstabspeople
    Offline

    robstabspeople New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Still no 3g connection

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using Tapatalk
  4. satoru
    Offline

    satoru New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    jupiter X.x
    It took a min to reset itself for me. Anymore info you can provide would help. like what you were doing when it happened, what rom your on, if any, etc..

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  5. robstabspeople
    Offline

    robstabspeople New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Stock, but rooted. No mods done. I was browsing the web and texting, and on gtalk. Then texts wouldn't send. Its gotta be something with the phone because it happened again like a week ago. This is a warranty phone as well so I'm really thinking of getting a different phone if possible.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using Tapatalk
  6. satoru
    Offline

    satoru New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    jupiter X.x
    Yea, the phones they give out for warranty don't ever seem to be good. You should tell them what happened. Also I have never browsed web, text and talk at same time. Maybe they all got jumbled in a sense?

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  7. robstabspeople
    Offline

    robstabspeople New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I doubt its because of such heavy use because for me, that's quite light use. The last time this happened I was able to still make calls. I am now too. In the morning when verizon customer service is open ill call and tell them what happened. Hopefully will get a new phone. I've only had this one for not even a month

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using Tapatalk
  8. Gasai Yuno
    Offline

    Gasai Yuno New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rausu-cho
    Just to clarify something:
    SMS doesn't need 3G. You can send texts over regular 2G connections, unless you always use MMS format even for regular texts.
  9. wildbill86
    Offline

    wildbill86 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My data connection disappears sometimes too, even when in a reliable area. Airplane mode will freeze phone. I usually just wait a few minutes, or reboot.

    Sent from my rooted D2G
  10. robstabspeople
    Offline

    robstabspeople New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Because I am in the U.S. and do not travel outside the country, therefore the Global network i do not need to use. Verizon Customer Service stated that sometimes when on the Global network, you can get kicked off 3G randomly, which is what was happening to me. The solution was to switch to CDMA mode. If this does not work, then this phone has a hardware issue and will be replaced. Thanks everyone for trying to help, I really appreciate it.
  11. wildbill86
    Offline

    wildbill86 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am always in cdma mode, I don't travel either.

    Sent from my rooted D2G
  12. warped1987
    Offline

    warped1987 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Plattsburgh, NY
    Kinda half answers a question i asked myself earlier, i was putzing around the settings and saw i could switch from Global to CDMA and something else, was wondering that since i dont travel if switdching to CDMA would matter or have any benefits.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  13. jillupm
    Offline

    jillupm New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    lost 3g day before yesterday

    I tried all the things suggested-toggle to airplane mode, soft reset. No change. As a last resort,I did a factory reset. It worked. And it wasn't as hard as a feared to get my phone up and running again.

    dancedroid
  14. Asphyx
    Offline

    Asphyx New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Vegas - New York
    This may be old info for some of you but it warrants mentioning in regards to this thread....

    The D2G will automatically try and switch to GSM when it loses a CDMA signal. If you happen to live in an area where reception is not all that great (mostly Rural and or urban dead spots).

    These changes affect battery life in a bad way so one of the first thing you should do is go into settings Wireless & networks - Mobile Networks -Network Mode, And change the setting to CDMA Only(EVDO not Auto) while you are in the US and GSM Only when you are outside the country.

    This will save battery power and also get rid of any reception issues because it is not spending any time trying to figure out which radio system to use.

    Anyone having Radio issues or issues of connection should try this tweak.
Search tags for this page
connection 3g motorola a956
,
droid 2 global no 3g
,
droid 2 no 3g
,

droid 2 no 3g connection

,
how to activate 3g in my motorola a956
,
how to force 3g to connect on android 2
,
how to reset internet connection on motorola droid 2
,
lost 3g milestone
,
milestone x won't connect to 3g
,
motorola 3g phone won't get internet
,
motorola no mms connection
,
my 3g won't turn on droid 2 global
,
no 3g connection android
,
problem so interneto droid global 2
,
why wont motorola milestone get 3g