Temorarily Turning Off 3G Network

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by CRwrestler44, Jan 4, 2011.

  1. CRwrestler44

    CRwrestler44 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I have a 150 mb plan right now on my new DROID 2. I used up to 140 mb in a few days and figured no big deal, if I just use wifi and not download anything anymore, I wouldn't go over and be charged extra. Well a week later, I'm up to 210 mb... so with that said, is there anyway I can turn off the 3G network and only use Wifi for internet connection all the while having everything else work like calling, text msg, etc.???
     
  2. mrapollinax

    mrapollinax Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    The best way to do that is probably via Root and a Custom ROM. On my D2G I'm running the Fission ROM which allows for different settings for the cellular network ie CDMA w/o EvDo.
     
  3. Steffylicious

    Steffylicious New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Open Settings -> Data manager -> Data Delivery, and then uncheck "Data enabled". That will completely switch off 3G data on your phone, so the only way you'll be able to download anything is through wi-fi.

    I only turn it back on when I need it.
     
  4. tebower

    tebower Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do any of the power management widgets (extended controls, switch pro, etc.) include a toggle that controls the data network feature mentioned above? When I attempt to use the APN-based data toggle on extended controls, it force closes.

    It would be great to have a toggle in my power widget for this.
     
  5. NiceGuysFinishLast

    NiceGuysFinishLast Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    748
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I use quicksettings (free) and it controls the APN, as well as brightness, wifi/gps/airplane mode, and several other (configurable) items. It's the ONLY app I've found so far that will enable/disable the GPS with one click, rather than taking you to the settings menu.
     
  6. tebower

    tebower Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I already have Extended Controls and Switch Pro purchased. I will try them. Extended also does GPS one toggle.
     
  7. CRwrestler44

    CRwrestler44 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks everyone for your responses! Got it taken care of! :icon_ banana:
     
Search tags for this page
droid 2 global turn off 3g
,
how do i turn off my 3g on droid 2
,
how to i switch my droid incredible from 3g to my network
,
how to turn 3g off on droid pro
,
how to turn off 3g on a motorola global pro
,

how to turn off 3g on droid 2 global

,
how to turn off 3g on droid pro
,
how to turn off 3g on motorola droid pro
,
how to turn off mobile network on droid 2 global
,
how to turn on 3g on droid pro