Next Rom Choice

Discussion in 'Droid 2 Roms' started by dudemansir, Nov 4, 2011.

  1. dudemansir
    Offline

    dudemansir New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Started with Apex2. Jumped to CM7. I am so incredibly unhappy with battery performance on this rom. Time for something else.
    Can someone recommend another current rom that is worthy?
    I see liberty was just updated but is battery life anything good?
  2. UrbanBounca
    Online

    UrbanBounca Rescue Squad Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,345
    Likes Received:
    76
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Virginia
    Are you using GB or Froyo version of CM7?

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
  3. dudemansir
    Offline

    dudemansir New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    GB version
  4. brad92
    Offline

    brad92 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,498
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Try Liberty 3. Very nice

    Boot Manager
  5. dudemansir
    Offline

    dudemansir New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yes but how are the battery reports thus far? not dying to reformat to another rom only to have more poop performance
  6. brad92
    Offline

    brad92 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,498
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TEXAS
    I'm getting pretty decent battery. 20% every 3 hours using it medium... This is also with Boot Manager.

    Just make a nandroid backup of your current ROM and if you don't like it, restore the backup.

    Boot Manager
  7. dudemansir
    Offline

    dudemansir New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i know nothing of nandroid or Boot Manager. i will have to look up both.
  8. brad92
    Offline

    brad92 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,498
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TEXAS
    You go into Clockwork Recovery and select backup and restore, then choose backup. It will make a complete backup of your phone and saves all your apps and settings. Then if you ever want to go back, you just boot into Clockwork and wipe data, cache and dalvik cache, then select restore backup. Everything will be fixed the way you had it.

    Boot Manager is an app that allows you to run up to 5 different ROMs with just a reboot. Liberty 3 is installed on my SD card. The reason I mentioned it is because you may get better battery life if Liberty 3 is installed normally and not using Boot Manager. I have gotten good battery life with it using Boot Manager, however.

    Boot Manager
  9. dudemansir
    Offline

    dudemansir New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'll prob just do a regular install. Can't see myself using CM7 anymore. Dying for something else. Though I see some problems with 3g connectivity cropping up.
  10. dudemansir
    Offline

    dudemansir New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    with CM7 in there now... do i need to do an SBF, GB upgrade and the whole jammy? or can i just pop into clockwork, clear all data and install liberty?
  11. brad92
    Offline

    brad92 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,498
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TEXAS
    What version of GB were you running before you installed CM7? The leak or the OTA?

    If it was the OTA, you can flash Liberty with just wiping.

    Boot Manager
  12. dudemansir
    Offline

    dudemansir New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    my CM7 install was the real deal: SBF, OTA, CM7

    I also don't have the patience to go through a Titanium Backup of all my apps and settings. Romtoolbox has that App backup, is that an option?
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2011
  13. brad92
    Offline

    brad92 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,498
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TEXAS
    I haven't tried it, so IDK. I use Titanium Backup Pro and do a batch restore. It does the installs for me.

    Boot Manager
  14. dudemansir
    Offline

    dudemansir New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    brad you hitting any 3g issues? I keep seeing references to it on liberty
  15. brad92
    Offline

    brad92 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,498
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TEXAS
    None at all. Its a rock solid ROM.

    Boot Manager
  16. AbusedRib
    Offline

    AbusedRib New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    As far as I can tell, people who have 3g issues didn't wipe or install correctly or something.

    If you are on OTA GB, wipe, and flash, you should be fine.

    I've been on Liberty3 since RC1, and it's been great. Awesome battery and performance.
  17. dudemansir
    Offline

    dudemansir New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks for the help gents. a simple wipe worked just fine. all seems well except i'm not crazy about the limited customization of the power strip pull down.