Newbie to flashing ROMs, dumb question

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Roms' started by JonnyCobra, Aug 28, 2012.

  1. JonnyCobra
    Offline

    JonnyCobra New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Collins, CO
    I guess I'm not entirely sure how flashing works, and about the different methods.

    So, let me get this straight. When you flash a ROM you have to wipe your phone, data and all, correct?

    TB will back up all your user data and what not, but after flashing a ROM won't that erase your backed up data?

    I have stock .905 rooted using the 43V3RRoot method, but when I flash a ROM, I'm going to lose this correct? And if I want to revert to .905 I still have to wipe data and re-root, correct?

    Sorry for all the newb questions. I just have sooo much data on my phone right now that I would hate to have to wipe it and start fresh.
  2. JonnyCobra
    Offline

    JonnyCobra New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Collins, CO
    Duh. Forgot you can change your TB backup folder to /mnt/sdcard-ext

    No wonder this thread went 80 views and no responses! Haha!


    What I still don't quite understand is, since I'm forever rooted will it remain that way w/ a ROM? And if I need to convert back to .905 will I have to re-root?
  3. smalltowngirl13
    Offline

    smalltowngirl13 DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6,562
    Likes Received:
    322
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Kansas
    ForeverRoot will remain when you flash a ROM but if you FXZ back to stock, you would need to reroot / foreverroot...

    When I say FXZ, that is using the system files to restore to stock out of the box...if you restore your nandroid backup of your stock root, your forever root is in place...
  4. JonnyCobra
    Offline

    JonnyCobra New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Collins, CO
    I gotcha! Looks like Safestrap is the best method after doing some more research.

    So in using Safestrap, if I ever want to install the OFFICIAL ICS update all I have to do is restart to my backup "unsafe" side and wait for the OTA push, correct?
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2012
  5. smalltowngirl13
    Offline

    smalltowngirl13 DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6,562
    Likes Received:
    322
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Kansas
    Yes, that is pretty much correct...you will want to be sure that you have also not removed, froze or renamed any of the bloat on the phone or modified any of the APKs as the phone will need to be "stock" to take the official OTA...you might check into the app VooDoo Rootkeeper which will also allow you to "temp unroot" to accept & install the OTA and then restore your root / forever root (this works most of the time LOL)...but something to think about down the road...
  6. JonnyCobra
    Offline

    JonnyCobra New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Collins, CO
    Sounds good! I knew about having to defrost apps before an OTA update, but thanks for the reminder. And thanks for the bootstrap info. That pushed me in the right direction and everything started making sense after that.
Search tags for this page

do you have to unfreeze apps before flashing a new rom

,
do you have to wipe before flashing rom
,
dumb android roms