NEWB Needs help with Google Voice and VOIP

fsand

Reaction score
Hi all, I am a very new NEWB! So be easy with me please!

This is my first cell phone in 10 years. There has long been 0 service in my area here in the woods, and now that there finally is I am ditching my home phone for this lovely Droid X.

I was able to get my Verizon rep to get me this droid for $25 and a 2 year contract, which seemed to be a pretty darn good price. I have spent a few days trying to get familiar with all the features, but there are so many it is crazy. In any case, I love the phone and need some help.

Here's my issue:

It was told to me that using Google Voice I could set my phone up to use VOIP calling so when I was in vicinity of a hot spot I could use that service rather than burning my minutes. It was also hinted to me that I could somehow use my data plan and Google Voice to make VOIP calls as well. Further, they said that there was a way to use that same Google Voice to send and receive free text messages so there was no need for a texting plan.

My problem is just simply I can't figure out how to do it. I am quite sure you guys have already been there and done that, so maybe one of you could be kind enough to help me do it?

Thank you in advance for your help.

Thunder_sl

Reaction score
have you ran Google voice on your phone yet? It pretty much walks you through it...the calls and texting doesn't work unless you get a Google phone number..

OP
F

fsand

Reaction score
I ran Google Voice on my phone.
I used my computer to sign up for a new number as it asked.
I believe I set it all up as it walked me through, what I am not sure of is whether or not it is still using my minutes or not. I was under the impression that just doing the basic setup was not enough for it to not be using my minutes, and using instead VOIP.

Thunder_sl

Reaction score
you should be set on free texting then...just go to your gmail inbox, hit menu, then compose and your off and running...