Droid VoIP calling..

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by dxm765, Sep 17, 2010.

  1. dxm765

    dxm765 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA,PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    My plan with verizon expired,however i want to keep it still and use the WiFi in my home and office to make phone calls and such,i have the google voice app and a google voice number. But when i try and place a call (i do select to make every call through google voice) it connects me to verizon and wants me to get a plan and such, any way around that...or a true VoIP app?
     
  2. takeshi

    takeshi Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    Again, GV is not a VOIP solution. You can, however, use it with a VOIP solution, as discussed in other threads.
     
  3. dxm765

    dxm765 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA,PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    could you please possibly provide a link to other thread(s)? I would greatly appreciate it
     
  4. triptych

    triptych Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah this board is a lot bigger than when the droid first came out. Telling people there are other threads doesn't help anyone out.

    I got voip to work with gv to use when my fiancee traveled to poland. It worked great on test calls here in the us, but once overseas the only thing it would do is ring the phone. Its a really buggy drawn out process.
    Maybe someday we will see true voip on these amazing phones, if the carriers would only stop raping and pillaging android.
     
  5. ionide

    ionide Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
  6. kodiak799

    kodiak799 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,967
    Likes Received:
    284
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Ratings:
    +296
    Did you use a PBX? I kind of got all-free VoIP to work but quality was awful. I think I need to set-up a PBX but haven't had the time. Didn't want to go that route, either, because I thought the lag could be bad. But I've messed with about everything else and seems PBX might be the last hope to get something that actually works decently.
     
Search tags for this page
bonic droid voip
,

droidvoip

,
freedompop
,
voip droid bionic
,
www.droidvoip.com