Need to understand recovery and ROM installation

mbaker

Reaction score
Hi, everyone. I'm new to Android (just picked up my Droid 3 about a week ago). With the one-click rooting tools available now, getting my phone rooted was ridiculously simple, and I'm happily using a couple of root-required apps. I would like to understand recovery mode and ROM installation better before I take the full plunge, though. Any good reading material out there that would help?

ItsTrentB

Reaction score
Hash of Codes: Stock CM Bootstrap for Droid 3 - Download Bootstrap Recovery for Droid 3 Here. You will use this to mainly backup the state of your phone should anything happened to it after installing a ROM, Mod, etc. You can restore your phone, should you not like a ROM or a Mod, to a previous state. Install Zips, ROMS, etc. All of the options will be there once you install and check it out.

Librarat

Reaction score
Koush has a ClockWork Mod Bootstrap in the market now. Search it (and as always, it costs your $3 unless you build it from source). You must already have Root to use it (and ffs, read his warnings)

OP
M

mbaker

Reaction score
Installed clockwork mod recovery and backed up with no problems. The only droid 3 ROM out there right now seems to be Steel Droid; any others?

Thanks!

Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums

ItsTrentB

Reaction score
Installed clockwork mod recovery and backed up with no problems. The only droid 3 ROM out there right now seems to be Steel Droid; any others?

Thanks!

Naaah Son! Steel Droid is the only one right now. CM7 will be here soon though! No problem

OP
M

mbaker

Reaction score
I have several important apps, which I assume would be toast and require reinstallation after installing a new ROM, yes?

Librarat

Reaction score
I have several important apps, which I assume would be toast and require reinstallation after installing a new ROM, yes?