need help with themeing framework and/or Gimp

Shelooga

Reaction score
im trying to take a stock framework-res file and alter the .png images to my liking. im going to swap images out from all over the place but i also wanted to add my own colors to some objects. i noticed though some of the 'highlighted.png' or 'unfocused.png' files are orange in all ROMs and themes. and when i use gimp to fill the orange with green, the area turns black on most of these type of icon files. can anyone tell me why i cannot make these the color id like? im thinking it may have something to do with 'layered' images in gimp. but im new to image editing so im not sure how to access the invisible layers and such. but i am also wondering if tinkering with these seemingly protected icons will cause problems when i pack all this back together and try to push this.

anyone input or help is greatly appreciated!!!

OP
Shelooga

Shelooga

Reaction score
im 95% done a theme im working on. it works (besdies the battery disappearing while plugged in to charge), but im looking to really put my own spin on it.
can anyone tell me if these .png files cannot be altered? or if they can, how to?

fyi, the theme is a combo of icons from darkslide, radioactive, black juice and liberty green ginger. also putting the finishing touches on a boot animation of a dancing droid

Mbk

Android For Life
Premium Member
Theme Developer
Reaction score
Change from indexed mode to rgb... most likely why you can't alter

OP
Shelooga

Shelooga

Reaction score

so if i change these from rgb to index mode will that screw with the end product when i put it all together? i kind of figured since the colors were the same in almost all the themes/roms ive unzipped and stripped down that i shouldnt mess with them. but i also noticed some icons that vary between themes/roms also are in this format and cannot be altered. but im not satisfied with just swapping these out; i want to make it the exact icon of my choice