Need Help!! Unexperienced with my phone!!

Discussion in 'Android Support' started by neenee904, May 30, 2011.

  1. neenee904

    neenee904 New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was trying to open the camera on my phone today when it shut itself off and quit working. Tried to cut it back on, but I only get the Motorola logo over and over.
    I have the original Droid A885.
    I have Googled and such, and think that my phone may probably be "bricked". Tried "rooting" it and installing, but no luck so far.
    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    Thank you!!!!
     
  2. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,346
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    You tried "rooting" it how? and "installing" what?
     
  3. neenee904

    neenee904 New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I tried rooting it following the post in your siggy, #1.
    I also tried to do it from the instructions on the unlockr.com, that a friend told me to use.
    Both were the same directions. Neither helped with my problem.
     
  4. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,346
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    so you are just getting a solid M screen, its not rebooting right?

    Can you boot into recovery (power+X) and wipe cache?
     
  5. neenee904

    neenee904 New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, just the solid M.
    Ok. yes, I can go into there. Have wiped the cache just now.
     
  6. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,346
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    If that does nothing you can also try wiping data. This will cause you to have to re login to your gmail account and restore your apps.
     
  7. neenee904

    neenee904 New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    How do I go about doing that?
     
  8. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,346
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    I take it wiping cache did nothing?

    What recovery do you have on your phone right now?

    In stock there should be an option to wipe data/factory reset.

    If you have sprecovery there should be an option below wipe cache that is wipe data.
     
  9. neenee904

    neenee904 New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wiping the cache didn't do anything.
    It says android system recovery <2e> is this what you are talking about?
    Under wipe data system recovery it says
    no
    no
    no
    no
    no
    no
    no
    yes - - delete all user data
    no
    no
    no
    I tried clicking the one that says yes yesterday, but it didn't do anything.