My Bionic is rooted...Do I need Safestrap?

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Hacks' started by WLSITGuy, Jan 7, 2013.

  1. WLSITGuy

    WLSITGuy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have rooted my phone and installed safestrap. However, I am running out of space with the Stock OS and Eclipse both running. Can I use a backup software like Titanium or the like, wipe the phone completely, Flash the phone with Eclipse only and just go about my day? Or do I need Safestrap?
     
  2. lm2

    lm2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2011
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Your question is confusing. It sounds as if you should instead be asking whether it's OK to get rid of the stock ROM and go only with eclipse. But instead you are asking if you can get rid of safestrap. Can you clarify what you mean?
     
  3. WLSITGuy

    WLSITGuy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Actually, I meant both. Can I eliminate the Safestrap and flash it with Eclipse only?

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2
     
  4. rocketsaucev2

    rocketsaucev2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    I am also confused as to exactly what you mean

    Safestrap allows you to boot between multiple roms. It is needed to run eclipse. That said, your storage in the newer versions (3 and up) is determined when creating rom slots. So one slot shouldn't affect another's, other than the phones global storage, obviously.

    Sent from my Nexus 10 using Tapatalk HD
     
  5. WLSITGuy

    WLSITGuy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    What I am asking is do I need Safestrap at all? Can I load a ROM on the phone without Safestrap?

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2
     
  6. rocketsaucev2

    rocketsaucev2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Safestrap is indeed needed. 3.11 is the newest. You can find it here on DROID forums. It really has become an amazing tool for trying any and every rom you want.

    Sent from my Nexus 10 using Tapatalk HD
     
  7. WLSITGuy

    WLSITGuy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just to be clear I cannot put any ROM on my phone without Safestrap? Is the BIONIC that different from other phones that people can flash a ROM on?
     
  8. rocketsaucev2

    rocketsaucev2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Because the bionic has a locked bootloader. Safe strap makes flashing roms pretty easy and we are very lucky to have such a useful tool
     
  9. rocketsaucev2

    rocketsaucev2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    There is also bootstrap, but in have zero experience plus eclipse is tested and recommended for use with safe strap
     
  10. Silvernirvash

    Silvernirvash Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    where everyone else lives i guess?
    Ratings:
    +0
    No matter what phone you have a customer recovery is required to install a custom ROM. Every android phone has it's own custom recovery so yes safe strap is required.
     
  11. DroidToro

    DroidToro Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I believe that you can also use bootstrap recovery. It's not as good as safestrap because it doesn't use slots but I am pretty sure you can accomplish what I think you are asking. That is, you can erase the stock rom and install a custom rom that has all the space that stock has. The only drawback is that it's not as 'safe' as safestrap. If your custom rom is hosed then you have to reset your phone with fxz.
     
  12. jcwilliams

    jcwilliams Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    OH
    Ratings:
    +3
    I personally use bootstrap. I've used and loved safe strap but it didn't not meet my requirements as far as space. I struggled to run a rom slot at 3gb with out running out of Space. I have too many apps. I'm a appaholic lol

    Anyways both recoveries in my opinion are awesome. Safestrap is definitely the way to go especially for "noobs" to rooting,ROMs and flashing in general.
     
  13. Silvernirvash

    Silvernirvash Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    where everyone else lives i guess?
    Ratings:
    +0
    The problem with Bootstrap compared to Safestrap is that bootstrap doesn't let you boot into recovery mode from the per button out turning on the phone. Its only accessible from the bootstrap app itself. Safestrap installs a splash menu for the user so you don't need to open the app every time you wish to boot into recovery. Just restart the phone and hit search when the splash menu comes up.

    Sent from my XT875 using Tapatalk 2
     
  14. WLSITGuy

    WLSITGuy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Why is there a 3gb limit on the ROM slot?
     
  15. Silvernirvash

    Silvernirvash Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    where everyone else lives i guess?
    Ratings:
    +0
    Firstly because no one has the space to hold 5 roms + the zip files for said roms + anything else they have on a mere 16 gigs of space. Secondly what ROM are you attempting to install that requires MORE than 3 gigs....

    Sent from my XT875 using Tapatalk 2
     
Search tags for this page

bionic page plus safestrap

,

do i need bionic

,

do i need safestrap for rooting my phone

,

droid bionic safestrap limit 3gb

,

my rooted bionic will not update with safestrap

,

on my droid bionic safestrap

,

recovery mode on rooted bionic

,

too many files on rooted bionic