Motocast???

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR MAXX' started by ricks, Mar 13, 2013.

  1. ricks
    Offline

    ricks Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    What happened to Motocast? I really liked having all my photos taken with my razr uploaded to my computer automatically.
  2. cybertj.2000
    Offline

    cybertj.2000 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Camby, IN
    It's a separate app now, should be in your app drawer

    We are the Droid!!
    You will be assimilated!!
    Resistance is futile!!
  3. ricks
    Offline

    ricks Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Don't see it.
  4. 1coopgt
    Offline

    1coopgt Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Go to your app drawer. It's still there as an independent app instead of being tied to your gallery .
  5. ricks
    Offline

    ricks Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Never mind, I found it. I guess I need to reset it.
  6. YellowJacket
    Offline

    YellowJacket Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    According to the changelog, motocast is now a separate app. You also need to re-login to start it working again.

    David
  7. Rogus
    Offline

    Rogus Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Correct. However, at least on my phone, Motocast will not automatically upload photos when my wi-fi is turned off even though I have I have Auto Backup "ON" in settings and "Download only over WiFi" unchecked in Download settings. You might want to check your settings if you find you don't use wi-fi and your photos aren't automatically uploading. If you aren't having the problem, I would greatly appreciate it so I know it's just my phone and not the Motocast app. Thanks.
  8. ricks
    Offline

    ricks Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Mines working fine so far. I took a pic with wifi on only and it uploaded it. While on 4G, I took a pic and it had a notification that says waiting to upload. It won't until I turn on wifi.
  9. Rogus
    Offline

    Rogus Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Thanks for the info. Same as mine. Guess it's a Moto problem and not just my phone.
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2013
  10. ricks
    Offline

    ricks Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    I don't think its a problem. Just a little different on mine. It works
  11. Rogus
    Offline

    Rogus Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Just my opinion, but if something doesn't work the way it should, I think it's a problem. I want it to upload via cellular data. It's supposed to and it doesn't. If we all have the same issue, that's a problem Moto should fix.
  12. Rogus
    Offline

    Rogus Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Thanks to a participant in the Moto users forum. Here's the answer about photo uploads and it's not our phone or exactly a program problem. It's that the setting for upload options is not very obvious.

    "Go into Motocast Settings, tap on Auto Backup, check to see if you have "Upload only over WiFi" checked and if so uncheck it. It's uploading over data that you want to allow, not downloading for your photographs. I just changed to these settings and the pictures that were stuck on my phone uploaded to my PC via Motocast successfully."

    Wish it were a bit more intuitive to find settings in some of these apps. Most of them are amazing in what they can do, but they sure don't make it easy to set them up sometimes.
  13. theetronic
    Offline

    theetronic New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    where's My Motocast Widget?

    I read the thread about where is my Motocast and again i did find it in my app drawer
    But where is my widget i loved so much ?
  14. Rogus
    Offline

    Rogus Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    There was a Motocast widget? You can move the app icon to a 'home' screen, but I wasn't aware there was a widget for it.
  15. jjdejd
    Offline

    jjdejd New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Cant find Motocast on Playstore, just Motocast USB. Liked the ability to view my files on my computer. Is this app gone? Thanks. Have a Droid Maxx approx. 1 1/2 years old. Im running ver. 4.1.2
  16. jjdejd
    Offline

    jjdejd New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    bump
  17. TheDroidURLookinFor
    Offline

    TheDroidURLookinFor Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Motocast widget was removed in the Android Jelly Bean update. Motocast was also made a stand alone app. Should be in your app tray.
  18. jjdejd
    Offline

    jjdejd New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the response. I have checked my app tray several times and only have Motocast USB. When I activate it. It says " Contacts sync account for windows is active" and I press OK ? I do remember when I got the Jellybean upgrade, everything went wrong. I still have motocast on my computer, but no way to communicate to it. Would the original Motocast app be buried deeper in my phone?? I guess it was blown away with the upgrade? I have ver. 4.1.2 Thanks again.
  19. ricks
    Offline

    ricks Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    I still have motocast on my razr maxx with JB.
  20. Rogus
    Offline

    Rogus Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I also still have Motocast on mine. However, it won't upload files to my computer any longer. Every time I try to turn on Auto Backup, I get a popup that says, "Backup location: Upload location not available, pls try again shortly." If I touch 'Backup location' to "Select the computer you'd like to upload to" I get the same popup. Searching the web hasn't revealed any answers. I'd given up on it a while back. I'm just passing on the info about my experience.
Search tags for this page

droid maxx motocast

,
how to upload pictures from dtoid razr maxx to my computrr
,

motocast

,
motocast and razr maxx
,

motocast droid maxx

,

motocast droid razr

,
motocast droid razr maxx
,

motocast for droid maxx

,
motocast for droid razr maxx
,
motocast for razr maxx
,
motocast razr maxx
,

what happened to motocast