Messing with an unactivated Droid Xq

Discussion in 'Droid X Hacks' started by clarkstrange, Jan 30, 2012.

  1. clarkstrange
    Offline

    clarkstrange New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just bought my buddies unactivated Droid X today and i'm trying to root it, but I can't get my market to work. Does it have to be activated to download apps? Or is there anyway to get it to work? I rooted my Droid X a while back but unrooted it. Could I restore my backup I made of My droid to this one? I want to mess with it before I activate it, but if it won't work, then I'll just activate it. Thanks for any help
  2. leftspin
    Offline

    leftspin New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,128
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    It makes no difference whether it's activated or not. A Droid X that hasn't been activated is basically an iPod touch with Android instead of iOS. If you have the nandroid backup you made of your old DX you can restore this one with it as long as you are using the same Android version.
  3. Quicksilver7714
    Offline

    Quicksilver7714 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,425
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Question, have you signed in with your Google account on the un-activated DX?

    You need to sign in with a Google account to get the market to work.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
  4. clarkstrange
    Offline

    clarkstrange New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No i haven't signed in with my gmail account. I'll try that. Thanks for the answers

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  5. clarkstrange
    Offline

    clarkstrange New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I can't get Z4 to work. It gets stuck trying to root then FC. Is there an easy way to root like z4 without a computer?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  6. Savagerun
    Offline

    Savagerun New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
  7. clarkstrange
    Offline

    clarkstrange New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I got it rooted but it won't boot into recovery. Not with liberty toolbox pro, bootstrapper or manually. I'm gonna try again tonight from my computer

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  8. Savagerun
    Offline

    Savagerun New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You need Droid2 bootstrap. If you have droidx bootstrap go in settings > applications > development and uncheck usb debugging

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  9. clarkstrange
    Offline

    clarkstrange New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for all of y'all! I clearly forgot all the steps to rooting and flashing. Got liberty on. I'm about to mess around! Thanks again!

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  10. clarkstrange
    Offline

    clarkstrange New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I can't get Titanium backup to launch. I bought it a while back and installed it on this phone from the market, but now it won't launch. I restored it with Liberty toolbox and moved it to the phone, but it won't show up or launch? Any advice?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  11. Savagerun
    Offline

    Savagerun New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You have to install the free version also for it to work. The pro is just a key.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  12. clarkstrange
    Offline

    clarkstrange New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does it cost anything to activate a phone on Verizon network?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
Search tags for this page
free vpn hacks for getting wifi on an unactivated android ph
,
hack unactivated droid x
,
how do i reboot and unlock aunactivated motorola droid razr
,

how to turn on unactivated droid x2

,

how to unlock an unactivated droid

,
how to unlock unactivated droid pro
,
how to use an unactivated droid x2
,
rootnon activated droid x
,
unactivated droid x2 can download games?
,
unactivated motorola droid x2
,

unlock unactivated android

,

unlock unactivated droid x

,
unlock unactivated motorola maxx
,
unlock unactivated samsung galaxy s3
,
use unactivated android