Memory EXTREMELY Low

Discussion in 'Droid X2 Tech Support' started by xgrinder911, Jun 7, 2011.

  1. Stelv

    Stelv Silver Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,656
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Western NY
    Ratings:
    +8
    The Android OS is good at managing memory, but there are also tasks that take a great deal of memory. I would say if there is less than 80mb of free memory available, ones device may slow down and lag. I cannot believe that Moto put suck a low amount of Ram in a dual core device. Ram is a valuable resource that these manufacturers seem to forget about.
     
  2. xgrinder911

    xgrinder911 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    *like

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
     
  3. eagle1967

    eagle1967 Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    73
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    colorado
    Ratings:
    +79
    just thought id throw this in

    for comparison.
    go launcher has widget called task manager. it shows avavilble memory. and will close down programs that are sitting in the background .
    i have a g2x that has the tegra 2 with 512mb of ram. and with go launcher running with the weather live wallpaper.
    and when i close the programs that are not being used. i get 207mb free , thats the ussually amount it shows when everything else is closed.
    so the numbers for the droid 2 x shoudl be the same so i am thinking its the great motoblur thats eating the rest of your memory.
    i havve had it show 245mb and even with need for speed running in the background i have 145mb free.
    so i think the OP does have a point here something isnt right
    g2x is on froyo 2.2.2 .
    not trying to say anything about the droid x2 just thought this was a comparable device to compare to for you.
     
  4. whodidthis

    whodidthis Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I froze all the bloatware in the phone and now get around 142mb of free ram...search for how to do a titanium back up and its pretty simple. need root though.
     
  5. zeppelinrox

    zeppelinrox Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Repost from another thread:
    You didnt customize the minfree levels V6 SuperCharger. It's works great regardless no matter the phone used.

    Why didnt you put in the megamemory device values?
    If you did you would have had about 100mb free after running a whole bunch of apps.

    It would be great if people, such as yourself, did not display their ignorance at the expense of people's probable benefit of something when said people, such as yourself, used it incorrectly or did not follow recommendations.

    Sent from my Milestone using Tapatalk

    In addition to that, the memory managment sucks on most gingerbread roms anyway, which is what V6 SuperCharger fixes and does it better than anything else out there (OOM fixes) - the minfree is secondary, really.

    If you supercharge again just use minfree levels that give you the free ram you want, with slot 3 being the biggest factor.
     
    #17 zeppelinrox, Jun 11, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2011
  6. eagle1967

    eagle1967 Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    73
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    colorado
    Ratings:
    +79
    uncalled for

    title says it all.
     
  7. zeppelinrox

    zeppelinrox Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You're probably right :redface:
    just finished with a broken watermain on a saturday, slept only 2 hrs so kinda grumpy :p
     
  8. xgrinder911

    xgrinder911 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    What are the megamemory device values?


    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
     
  9. overtwo

    overtwo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    ROFLMFAO @ this topic.


    my droid has ~30mb of free ram and is super fast/snappy. Zero lag.
     
  10. Stelv

    Stelv Silver Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,656
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Western NY
    Ratings:
    +8
    I don't know how your Droid can be snappy with 30mb of free ram. A phone is not going to run well with only 30mb of free ram.
     
  11. overtwo

    overtwo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Really? Please explain....I would like to know :)

    Edit: If your CPU is being hogged by one of the apps in your memory, then yes your phone will be slow and sluggish. Check your CPU usage/up time with spare parts (or whichever way your prefer).
     
    #23 overtwo, Jun 17, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2011
  12. Stelv

    Stelv Silver Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,656
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Western NY
    Ratings:
    +8
    Certain memory intensive process like web browser, video/music streaming, overlay widgets, Launcher Pro, Games like Plant vs Zombies, etc take up way more than 30 mb of ram at any given time. When your device runs out of available ram it will start to draw memory using the sdcard, this creates lag and freezing sometimes. The only way your Droid doesn't lag with only 30mb free is if you don't do anything but send text messages or make phone calls. Not to mention you are prolly missing text messages and phone calls due to low amounts of memory.
     
Search tags for this page
droid x2 low ram
,

droid x2 memory problems

,
droid x2 ram being used up
,
droid x2 ram issues
,
droid x2 ram upgrade
,
droid x2 ram usage
,
free up ram droid x2
,
how to free up memory on droid x2
,

how to free up ram on droid x2

,
ram usage too high android