Locking Only with Lock/Power Button

hautepursuit

Reaction score
I am new to Droid and I am trying to set my Droid X so that it will only lock when I press the Lock/Power button and not when the screen goes to sleep. I can't stand unlocking my phone every time I awake it.

I had a feature like this on my BB Storm - I downloaded StormSlider and set it as a side button so that the phone would lock only if I pressed the button.

I have searched the forums and have yet to find an answer that works. I have already tried No Lock, Shaker and Screebl.

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated!

Humpa

Reaction score
No Lock is the best lock bypass app. But if you enable that, the lock will be bypassed always, even if you press the power button. Plus any physical button will wake the phone if using this app. Lock Bot is another popular lock app.

I do not think there is a way to only lock sometimes and not others. Aside from using a widget and turning the lock on and off.

Viper323

Reaction score
On CM6 there is a setting called "Screen timeout delay" that you can set as high as 30m. That way if your screen turns off the phone won't lock until 30m later, however if you press the lock button it will lock instantly. I'm not sure if any other ROMs have this feature or not...

EDIT: Sorry, I just read your post again and saw you had a Droid X =(

Slapper

Reaction score
Ive been using screen mode widget lite. 3 modes: lock, unlock, always on

lterry913

Reaction score
I have used screen mode widget also since getting droid 1 and like it the best of all mentioned...not exactly what you want but close...and try emailing a developer sometimes they are open to suggestions and will update an app if they think it is a good idea.

fullwave2

Reaction score