Location services issues??

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by evlmnky, Sep 13, 2012.

  1. evlmnky

    evlmnky New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am running ICS leaked version 6.7.2233 on my Bionic and have been for some time...

    Recently my phone has been doing some weird things. Like today, my weather widget and the Facebook location services showed my location in Poland even though I'm sitting in FL. Is this an issue with using a leaked ICS or what? Any help on correcting this? Should i be running a different OS by now?

    You have to excuse me, I'm a complete noob when it comes to phones. Installing this leaked OS is about as technical as I've ever gotten with them.
     
  2. evlmnky

    evlmnky New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nothing? Today I'm in Sibu, Malaysia apparently...
     
  3. NoClue48

    NoClue48 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Ratings:
    +0
    You could report it to the widget author, but since you're running a leak, I'm doubting there's much interest on their part at this stage.

    I had problems with my widget (3D Flip Clock & Weather) while on .232, but have had far less issues (it's updated itself several times since then) after upgrading to .242/244.

    Please understand I'm not advocating that you move to .244 for all the reasons that SamuriHL and others are warning against. I'm just relating my experiences with the location services apps.

    Good luck
    nc
     
  4. linuxgator

    linuxgator Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    It could be an issue with your A-GPS (Assisted-GPS) data. What that does is it downloads info from cell towers and whatnot and gives a rough location to help speed things up. There's an app called GPS Status that allows you to clear out your A-GPS data and download fresh data which may help. On the other hand, it may have nothing to do with that.
     
  5. CurGeorge8

    CurGeorge8 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    I hope Verizon doesn't think you're in Poland and start charging you international data rates.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Droid Forums
     
Search tags for this page
droid dna location service not working
,

galaxy s3 location services not working

,
htc rezound location services
,
location service not working s3
,
location service s3 not working
,
location services not working on android
,
s3 location services not working
,
samsung galaxy s3 location services not working
,
samsung s3 location services not working
,
samsung s4 3d flip clock location problem