List of issues with my MAXX so far... (please help!)

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR MAXX' started by IanBadeer, Mar 23, 2012.

  1. IanBadeer
    Offline

    IanBadeer New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Nebraska
    Ratings:
    +0
    Keeping in mind this is my first smartphone, some of my "issues" may be common knowledge to you folks as existing for a long time, but they're new to me. :p

    I started with 2.3.5 and have had the 2.3.6 update since it came out. All of the issues listed below have carried over across both versions.

    1. No data when in a phone call.
    As soon as I'm on a call with someone, I can receive texts but have no internet use whatsoever. No facebook, no browser, nothing. Is this common?

    2. Picture corruption.
    I often (every 2-3 days) have a picture not save properly. I've gotten accustomed to taking two shots of everything because often one doesn't save properly and shows up as 0KB when I look to download it from the SD card. I've had this same issue with two different SD cards. This also seems to happen if I take a picture immediately after launching the camera app.

    3. Ringtones/alarm sounds changing
    I use music from my SD card to do ringtones and text alerts. However, once I plug in my phone to the computer and access the card and then disconnect it, this happens: Alarms now say "Unknown Ringtone" and play a different song from my SD card. My ringtones and alerts do the same thing, they switch over to other songs. Is there a better way to assign these so that they don't change on every USB connection?

    4. Wifi sucks.

    The wireless card on the phone is junk. I have to try two or three times on some networks to connect and even then it will drop the connection when the router is 20 feet away. At home, I have a router and then a repeater on the other end of the house (where my room is). The wifi on the phone works off the router, but not off the repeater. This is despite the fact that my laptop, desktop, and iPad all work just fine off the repeater. So if I want to use wifi instead of my data plan, I have to leave my room, go upstairs, and get out of range of the repeater so that it connects to the router. It's the weirdest issue.

    5. Some Google Voice texts do not go through to the phone.
    This may be a GV issue and not a phone issue, but I often have (usually once a day) a Google Voice text go to my GV app, but it never arrives in on my phone in the normal text area like it should. I have notifications turned off for GV, because the texts forward to my phone, but this is annoying when I'm waiting for my phone to go off for a reply and it never gets it, the text just silently goes to GV. If I activate the GV notifications, then I get double alarms/alerts, which is even more annoying. :p

    I think there are a few other issues I've had as well, but I won't remember until they happen to me again on the phone.

    Anyway, does anyone have some ideas of how I can alleviate some of these problems?

    Thanks!

    Ian
     
  2. BroidDrionic
    Offline

    BroidDrionic Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Dude I get #2 and 3 too on my bionic...
    I've discovered that my ringtones change if I have it usb'd to the computer and in USB mass storage mode, then get a notification. It seems to choose some random audio from my phone (music usually).
    I'll upload one of my corrupted pics later. It's like the top of the pic is ok, then its weird noise and garbled colors in the middlish, then the bottom of the pic is normal but shifted to the right or left. I figured it was a problem with one of the chips in my phone, but I guess other people are having pic problems too...

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  3. Trash Can
    Offline

    Trash Can Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Ratings:
    +25
    Regarding #1, that's how Verizon's phones work when connected to 3G/CDMA (with no WiFi connection) -- voice or data. However, you should have both voice and data available when connected to 4G/LTE. I don't have the other issues you describe, so I cannot comment.
     
  4. scottysize
    Offline

    scottysize Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    90
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Sanger, TX
    Ratings:
    +92
    1. As stated earlier, you will not be able to do what you are trying to do on Verizon's 3G network with any device. It's a 3G limitation.
    2, 3, 4, 5 I would try a factory reset.
     
  5. bendystrawboy
    Offline

    bendystrawboy Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    797
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Tbolt can figured all lte phones can?
     
  6. MysticalDreams
    Offline

    MysticalDreams Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    IL for now... waiting for the day we can move back
    Ratings:
    +24
    Good Luck... a factory reset might be a good place to start
     
  7. droidbionicmaster
    Offline

    droidbionicmaster Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    Yea 4g allows calls abd browsing but not 3h

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
     
  8. TatDroid
    Offline

    TatDroid Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    857
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +170
    Yes, all Verizon's LTE phones CAN, but only when connected to 4G LTE. If you're in a 3G only area then no data while on a call.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  9. IanBadeer
    Offline

    IanBadeer New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Nebraska
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks, as it turns out, I live just outside the 4G LTE area so every time I've tried this it's been on 3G, that explains a lot.

    I will back my phone up and do a factory reset and see how things turn out. I'll keep you guys posted, thanks!
     
  10. IanBadeer
    Offline

    IanBadeer New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Nebraska
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did the factory reset, and one thing that does work now (that I had forgotten about) is the ability to add my facebook account to the "My Accounts" section, so now I can use the My Gallery widget and have fb photos on my home screen. The issue I had before was that I would tap to add the facebook account, and nothing would happen.

    As for issues 2 through 5, I'll find out as I use it this week. The wifi issue still exists though, it works perfectly off the router but gets nothing off the repeater (despite connecting just fine and getting an IP address).
     
  11. Trash Can
    Offline

    Trash Can Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Ratings:
    +25
    It's all a matter of personal preference, but have to tried Facebook for Android? I like it much better than the one pre-installed on the phone.
     
  12. IanBadeer
    Offline

    IanBadeer New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Nebraska
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yep, Facebook for Android is the one I setup.
     
  13. rdgxray
    Offline

    rdgxray Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    No picture corruption or wifi problems...I have the razr but basically same phone...factory reset or refurbished might be options ...but sounds like all somewhat minor issues ...all phones have quirks like this....good luck with reset...let us know if it helps

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
     
  14. jmack356
    Offline

    jmack356 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Regarding Wi-Fi connection issues, I purchased two MAXX's 2 months ago and immediately found I could'nt connect to my home network on either of them.
    I little searching turn up the solution that worked for me... I have a D-Link wireless router that is still basically setup with most default settings. One of them was the "Mixed" setting where the router was using 802.11b, g & n. It was the "n" protocol that was causing my problem. Once I changed my router to use only "b" & "g", the MAXX connected immediately ans has been rock-solid ever since.
    As a side benefit, the several laptops in the house are now also connecting with a better, more reliable signal as well...
     
  15. HT_Flyer
    Offline

    HT_Flyer New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Regarding your GV issue, do you use smart action battery extender, because that shuts off background sync and you won't get GV messages.
     
Search tags for this page
common droid razar maxx issues
,

common droid razr problems

,
common issues with droid razr maxx
,
common problems with droid eazr maxx
,
common problems with droid maxx
,

common problems with droid razr maxx

,
droid maxx common issues
,

droid razr maxx common problems

,

razr maxx common problems

,
razr maxx corrupted images