4G / Wifi Problem a known issue? (Verizon)

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR MAXX' started by RH434, Jun 4, 2012.

  1. RH434
    Offline

    RH434 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi Everyone!

    New here, so if this has been covered 1000 times already, please point me the right direction.

    Just got 9 Maxx's for our company and all seem to have the same issue. We're on Verizon. We have a 4G repeater in our building. We have N Wifi with a high-end Sonicwall Access Point / Router. (happens at home too on trendnet router)

    The problem is, if I enable Wifi on any Maxx, the phone seems to lose data connection. You can't send/receive email. We have email set up on Exchange and Gmail accounts. If you disable Wifi and the 4G kicks in (blue meter) it sends / receives fine.

    Called Verizon Support (insert laughs here)
    They said the solution is to disable the Wifi. Only enable it if I'm sure I want to use it. (2 different people plus local store) Sure, this works for them as they get more data usage, but seriously?

    Is this a known issue that maybe ICS will fix?

    We previously had Galaxy Nexuses and they had no problem with both Wifi and 4G simultaneuosly co-existing. It was ICS though.

    Help?

    Thankks.
    -RobH (RH434)
  2. thebeeobee
    Offline

    thebeeobee New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
  3. lhardeman56
    Offline

    lhardeman56 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I use an exchange server and when at home using wifi I have no issues sending/receiving mail thru wifi. If wifi is connected, the 4G network is not used. Why would you think the 4G should work when connected to wifi?
  4. tech_head
    Offline

    tech_head Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Western Hemisphere
    When WiFi is active *AND* connected 4G is disabled.
    If they were both active, which one should the phone use???????
  5. bsweetness
    Offline

    bsweetness Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,516
    Likes Received:
    102
    Trophy Points:
    63
    It's definitely not a known problem specific to the MAXX.

    To me, it sounds like there's something at the WiFi network level that's not allowing the phones to connect to the Google servers (the difference between blue and grey - both means you're online, but grey means you're not connected to the Google servers and blue means you are connected). I've had this happen several times when I'm using the WiFi at various businesses. They have certain sites and types of connections blocked, resulting in the phone being able to properly connect to the Google servers. This inability to connect will have an impact on several different functions of the phone, including exchange email. This isn't a problem when on 4G/3G because Verizon doesn't restrict traffic in the same way that many businesses and private WiFi networks do in order to maintain security and/or productivity.

    And as others have said, when connected to a WiFi network, 4G/3G will automatically be disabled. Running both at the same time is redundant and only serves to deplete the battery. Exchange email will sync over WiFi just like over 4G/3G, so that's why it seems like there's a problem at the network level.
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2012
  6. FoxKat
    Offline

    FoxKat DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,612
    Likes Received:
    824
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Also, look at your ISP's rules regarding send and receive of email through their servers, when accessing an outside POP3 or IMAP account. Since port attacks have become a big problem, ISPs have shut down the standard ports for email (110 & 25), will only allow access through less-targeted ports (143, 465, 587, 993, 995, etc.)

    Also, since spam is a huge problem, some ISPs (Verizon for instance), and will only allow email to pass through their own email SMTP and POP3/IMAP servers, so they can monitor email for spam. You may have to do what I had to do, set up a pass-through email account on the ISP, set that ISP server as the POP3/IMAP and SMTP server for your outside email server, and then set it to spoof your email account names on outgoing email.

    This way, the recipient of your emails will see them as coming from your Corporate Email SMTP server, NOT your ISP's SMTP server, and your real corporate Email addresses will appear, rather than one with the ISP's domain name.

    It's a common problem, going to be more common, and will need to be dealt with eventually anyway.
  7. RH434
    Offline

    RH434 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is a good question. I didn't know how the phone prioritizes, but it makes sense to disable one over the other. I would imagine that you would want Wifi to take priority over your 4G and 3G connection.

    With our last phones, It must have done it in the background and didn't have a feature to change the color like the Maxx. I never questioned it, it just worked. It is interesting that they worked seamlessly, however we're seeing this condition with the Maxx. (The Galaxy is a nice device, just a terrible phone, which is why we switched.)

    Verizon had me enable the Global Data Roaming Access under the Data Manager, and warned about roaming out of country data charges. This made no difference by the way.
  8. RH434
    Offline

    RH434 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the detailed reply. I'm going to have to study this more tomorrow.

    We have been having some problems with our network mail, and the ISP's email spam filters. We have a unique situation and it's complicated due to having a "managed" ISP solution by our land line phone supplier. Suffice it to say I'll have to work with our supplier to see if this might be a related issue.
  9. RH434
    Offline

    RH434 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hmmm... This makes sense. I'll have to study this more tomorrow as well.

    Thanks for the insight. I'll have to read up on the blue vs. grey connection to the Google servers. It seems to me that when I enable the Wifi even at home and it goes blue, I can't send exchange mail or pop3. If I disable Wifi, and then in the case of my home, the 3G goes blue and I can send. Same symptoms at work and home, totally different ISP's and network systems.

    Scratching head on this one right now....
  10. RH434
    Offline

    RH434 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  11. RH434
    Offline

    RH434 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No Resolution Yet.

    I did call Motorola and spent time with them going over all of the network settings etc. They said to call the carrier as they can't see anything wrong.

    I called Verizon support and got to a Level 2 tech. She was nice and knowledgable but also could not find a solution. Last course of action is to try a new SIM card. I'll drop by a store tomorrow and get one made up. Perhaps re-provisioning? They wanted me to do a factory reset, again. I declined. Too much hassle for something that will most likely not make a difference. I finally just have everything back on the phone and all 9 of my phones are doing the exact same thing. Unless there was a glitch at the factory that affected the production run I can't believe it would help.

    ICS on the Galaxy worked fine. That is my last absolute last option when the upgrade finally ships.

    During all of this, I did verify that Gmail works on the Wifi to send and receive. Interesting. Pop3 and exchange do not. I'm going to further discuss with my ISP's support about something not configured right on the Exchange connectors, but the pop3 accounts to godaddy has nothing to do with them and it has the same issue.

    I guess I could root my phone and put on the leaked ICS to see if it helps.

    Thanks all who have chimed in. I'll post if I find a resolution and to see if anyone else has any other ideas.

    -RobH (RH434)
  12. Caesars
    Offline

    Caesars Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,206
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Hope you get it going mate, its so weird that it would work fine on 9 nexus and not work on 9 maxxs lol.
  13. FoxKat
    Offline

    FoxKat DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,612
    Likes Received:
    824
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
  14. nessjosh
    Offline

    nessjosh New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Motorola Maxx - 4g WIFI not grabbing emails

    I as well have the same problem. When I have Wifi enabled at my condo who (wifi thru the building) or when I'm at my office (one man show office) my phone will not grab my pop/imap emails or my hotmail emails. VZW tech support said sometimes hotmail will give me a connection error even when im on 4g using it but he thinks thats becuase Mircosoft might not care about emails working with Google devices.

    I can adjust my router settings at work and I'd love to try that. I'm just using the D-link N router default factory settings. So my email port should not be blocked.
    At home it does the same thing - different brand routers and different service provider. but still no emails get pushed to my phone while on wifi.

    I think its a motorola issue. I also had problems with my MAXX not working with my Bluetooth Parrot Handsfree Car kit, I got that kinda fixed.

    Any help or direction would be great.
  15. Sox
    Offline

    Sox New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just want to chime in and say that I just bought 2 MAXX's (one for me, one for my gf) and that my MAXX's wifi was working just fine earlier tonight until I updated to the 6.12.181 software version. I was running the old .173 earlier tonight while my gf's phone was on the .181. Her phone's wifi wasn't working, so I went tinkering with both of them and updated my own phone. Now both phone's wifi do not work (the wifi logo turns blue briefly when enabled, but cannot perform basic google searches or anything else). The 4g LTE works fine if wifi is disabled, but what's the point if you have limited data?

    Any solutions and/or workarounds would be appreciated. I've done some digging on the internet but I've only see a few people with this problem and no solutions.
  16. Grimes
    Offline

    Grimes New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    same problem here

    I registered just so I could chime in also...I have the same damn problem with my wifi at home. My old DroidX works great on the wifi network. I am running a DLink router, with WPA2 (personal), AES enabled, on a fixed channel, 802.11 G only (no a, b, or n).

    The Razr refuses to fully load web pages, and just times out sometimes. However, if I run a speedtest.net ap, I will get blazing speeds (pretty much max out the cable internet connection).

    Fix it motorola!!!

    Otherwise, the phone is really great. I hope they address this issue.
  17. Parzec
    Offline

    Parzec New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It defaults to wifi which is a problem for me in my cabin where I have a wireless network strickly for media sharing but no internet gateway on that network, because there is no wired internet. So if I try to use media sharing on my razr and turn on wifi, it is too dumb to use wifi just for media share, while still using 3g or 4g for internet data. Instead it hopelessly expects to find internet on a wireless network with no internet gateway. Brilliant programming, Motorola.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR maxx from Droid Forums
  18. Sox
    Offline

    Sox New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Update: I went to the Verizon store to get the problem checked and re-created so I could trade in my phones for replacements. Lo and behold a Motorola engineer stopped by (we were there past closing time) and he took pictures of my settings and seemed very interested. He said that the wifi connectivity drop thing was not a known issue and he was intrigued that 2 phones purchased from 2 different locations ended up with the same issue. I'm going to chalk it up to a bad batch since the only thing related about the phones was their make and time (not place) of purchase.

    Anyways, I got my phones replaced and the wifi works fine for both phones. In my opinion if you can, just replace the phones as Motorola is not aware of the issue and there is no easy fix without getting into router configs and rooting.
  19. Swannyva
    Offline

    Swannyva New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I stumbled onto this thread, RH434, research my NEXT phone. I've had this problem with my HTC Droid Incredible for 18 months - having to turn Wi-fi off in order to send an email message. I checked many forums early on, with no luck, so I lived with it. After reading Fox's recommendation, I compared my ISP settings between Outlook and the Incredible and noticed that my SMTP ports were different (25 on the Droid, 2525 in Outlook). I changed the Droid, sent a test message, and it worked! I'm using my own url with email hosted by Network Solutions - it seems to be a vanilla POP3 setup.

    I hope you were able to get a resolution to your problem, but this thread just made my day!
    Thanks.
    John:biggrin:
  20. mikedbq
    Offline

    mikedbq New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just recently got the Droid Bionic for my father-in-law for his birthday. Great phone ... except the fact that the wifi never worked. Sure, it would connect to the router. It would tell me that I was connected but no data. Just "webpage not responding" messages in the browser. So I figured, maybe it was an issue with the security. I tried all variations on my Belkin wireless N router, even turning security off for a while ... no avail. I then took the phone back to my house, where all my other Android devices get on my Dlink Wireless N router. Same thing ... just gray bars when in Wifi. Disable the wifi, 4g comes back, bam ... data is back! But not through wifi. I repeat this pattern at two other locations and get the same results. All 4 locations were using WPA2 TKIP. And I tried disabling the security at each location. No change.

    Called Amazon Wireless and told them the whole story. They assumed that it was defective. They were out of stock of the Bionic, so I had to choose an equally valued phone from what they had in stock. The Droid Razr 4G was the closest thing. The Razr exhibited the exact same behavior! Grrr!

    I then called Amazon Wireless. They forwarded me to Verizon. They forwarded me to Motorola. Went through level 1 tech support pretty quick. Got to level 2. After 90 minutes with level 2, they passed me on to level 3, which they said that I would be contacted within 24-48 hours. It's been 96 hours. No contact. I'm assuming they don't call on weekends so my hopes are high for this Monday.

    So I start doing some searching around on the internet to get a few ideas.

    Idea #1 ... I'll use my sprint smartphone and turn on the wifi hotspot to see if that works. Guess what ... no problem ... It works! I get wifi data through my other smart phone! The wifi bars on the Droid Razr 4G turn blue instead of the gray from my standard router based networks. Interesting! But confusion ensues because my sprint phone is using the FoxFi app with WPA2 with TKIP security activated, just like the four routers I tried. This tells me it has nothing to do with the type of security being used.

    Idea #2 ... I'll check to see if there are any phone updates that has perhaps fixed this problem. There are TWO updates to download. The first one goes from Gingerbread 2.3.5 to 2.3.6. No difference with the wifi. The second update (6.12.181.xt912.Verizon.en.US) kept the android version at 2.3.6 but also didn't work with wifi activated as well.

    I hope this helps others struggling with this as well. I'll post back if I hear from Level 3 at Motorola.
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2012
Search tags for this page
cyanogen wifi connection problems razr maxx
,
droid maxx wifi problem
,
droid maxx wifi problems
,
droid razr maxx issue with wifi
,

droid razr maxx wifi issues

,
droid razr wifi problems
,
email sends over wifi but not 4g
,
galaxy s4 wifi known issue
,
how to fix 4g on android
,
incredible 4g wifi problems
,

razr maxx wifi issues

,

razr maxx wifi problems