1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Launch apps by voice?

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR MAXX' started by LBJay, May 8, 2012.

  1. LBJay
    Offline

    LBJay New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok I give up. My wife saw the new Verizon Droid commercial where the lady voice launches an app. She want to know what app is on the her maxx to do that?

    I see nothing on the phone. Google Voice Commands doesn't do Apps. The people at the local Verizon store were clueless.

    I know there are 3rd party apps to do it, but if Verizon highlights it specifically in a "Droid Does" commercial you'd think it was a "feature", wouldn't you?
    Last edited: May 8, 2012
  2. SANhacker
    Offline

    SANhacker New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    I use Vlingo to "Open", "Text", "Call", "Search", "Find", etc. and it works great.
    i.e. "Open" Pandora
  3. jeff70
    Offline

    jeff70 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    you can try the voice command app already loaded in the phone app directory before trying a 3rd party solution

    it is not listed in choices after you start the voice command app but if you say for example "open ScoreCenter" it will open my ESPN ScoreCenter app or any other app you want

    I thought it was strange that the voice commands app didn't list opening apps by voice as one of the choices so I just tried "open ______" one day to see if it worked and it seemed to work fine for the limited times I tried it
    Last edited: May 8, 2012
  4. thaDroidz
    Offline

    thaDroidz New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,062
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    neptune
    Stock opens apps for me too!

    ----posted MAXXED OUT WITH dessert----
  5. doug494
    Offline

    doug494 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm cruising on here because I need to upgrade my Droid X and was considering the Maxx

    Anyway

    On my X the voice command is "go to" to open an app.
  6. Sydman
    Offline

    Sydman Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,415
    Likes Received:
    199
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    I have double tap home set to voice commands, and I double tap it and it asks for command I say "Open Dropbox" and it loads the program. Using stock Voice Commands.
  7. rosariorose9
    Offline

    rosariorose9 Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Can't get that to work for me, but Vlingo does the job.
  8. jeff70
    Offline

    jeff70 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    can't get the double click of home to work or voice commands? if it's double click home setup is settings>applications>double tap home launch (pick your program)

    I don't use the voice commands much but I may give Vlingo a try one of these days
  9. SallyC
    Offline

    SallyC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,212
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Michigan
    WOW! How cool! Thanks for sharing that. I had no idea it did that because, as you say, it's not listed. Very cool!


    Love this use for the double tap! I hadn't done anything with it because I felt like I had everything pretty much covered with various widgets. But with combining this with the (for me) newly discovered Open command is perfect.

    Now I just have to remember the real name of my favorite apps. View attachment 49854 And it doesn't help when Google changes them!
  10. rosariorose9
    Offline

    rosariorose9 Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Actually I can't get either to work! Don't know what the problem is with the double tap home screen function, but it's never worked on my Maxx.
  11. FoxKat
    Offline

    FoxKat Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,590
    Likes Received:
    816
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Wow, it's so interesting how many features are on these phones that some consider nothing out of the ordinary and others (even experienced Android users) are completely unaware are even there! I've known about Voice Commands for ages (well, ages in smart phone terms, i.e. the last several months). It works incredibly well. Still, there are always things I discover from others that I didn't know as well. That's the beauty of this open forum. It is a true community of people helping people for the better of all.

    Perhaps the US Government (among others) could learn a lesson or two here! :biggrin:
  12. SallyC
    Offline

    SallyC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,212
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Michigan
    I totally agree, FoxKat. What's funny is I can't find 'Open' documented anywhere, including Google's Voice Action help page! Makes me wonder what other things it will do.

    I'm going to have to start speaking to my phone more often! View attachment 49875
  13. papaford1963
    Offline

    papaford1963 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm not sure what you saying for certain but if you are (double click home first) that is incorrect, I mean if your double clicking first..instead it is settings>applications>double tap home launch (pick your program)
  14. jeff70
    Offline

    jeff70 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    sry the way I worded it may have been strange you are right there is no double clicking the home button first

    first go to settings>applications>double tap home launch (pick your program) then you can double click your home button to access whatever program you set up
  15. Sydman
    Offline

    Sydman Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,415
    Likes Received:
    199
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Always glad to pass on any small amount of knowledge I have about the Droids, however I am surprised I was able to teach you something. You have been quite impressive with your knowledge over these phones in such a short amount of time in being here. Still happy to help just the same :)
  16. jeff70
    Offline

    jeff70 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    lol np it's strange because I just recently saw one of those Droid commercials like the OP LBJay talked about and it got me thinking about where those voice commands could be found

    It would have made it a whole lot more clearer imho if Google had just added a simple line like "go to <apps>" or "open <apps>" in the voice commands choices :)
  17. William_04_x
    Offline

    William_04_x Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    The different voice commands are extremely convenient when you're driving. There isn't much you can't do with voice commands.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX using Droid Forums
  18. SallyC
    Offline

    SallyC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,212
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Michigan
    Yes, and since it's not listed with the commands you can use - either on the app or their support page here - I'm wondering if this is something they recently added?

    Now I feel like going on an "Easter egg" hunt with voice commands....who knows what else they can do?????????????? :icon_wink:
  19. Ghostwheel
    Offline

    Ghostwheel Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cincinnati
    I'm wondering how many unnecessary apps I've installed that duplicate native functions without my even knowing it. I'm sure there are dozens of improvements the RAZR has over the D1, but I just got used to using apps to accomplish them on the D1. I'm keeping Speaktoit Assistant though; I'd miss my little cartoon girl if I just went with built in voice commands. :biggrin:
  20. SallyC
    Offline

    SallyC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,212
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Michigan
    HA! There are other commands not listed. For example, 'Check.' Try:

    Check Status
    Check Voicemail


    I'm betting there are others...hmm, this could be fun!:biggrin:
Search tags for this page

android launch apps with voice

,
android start app by voice
,
android voice command launch app
,
android voice commands open app
,

android voice launch app

,

droid launch apps by voice

,
how to launch apps by voice on android
,

how to launch apps with voice android

,

how to open apps with voice android

,
open app my voice android
,
open app voice android
,
open app with voice android
,
open apps with voice
,

open apps with voice android

,

voice launch apps android