1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Kernels = I f'ed myself... Help

Discussion in 'Android Forum' started by xkape, Jul 30, 2010.

  1. xkape
    Offline

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,876
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH-IO
    OK,

    So, I installed the Chevy1 ulv 1.25 kernel. Phone can't handle it. reboots over and over.

    I am/was running BB 0.4 which runs at 800mhz.

    I found a d/l from p3 @ 800mhz in recovery mode which loads fine but gets stuck.

    None of the others work.

    My last update.zip file on my sd card was for a theme and not a ROM.

    I used Titanium but there's nothing in that folder to install. I just ran a nandroid but it's probably too late.

    HOW DO I get my phone back on without losing date or at least just back on and running?
  2. brochaos
    Offline

    brochaos New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    781
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    keep trying different kernels! also, don't do ULV, do LV or SV or MV!
  3. xkape
    Offline

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,876
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH-IO
    how do I try a different kernel? I have no others on my sd card and nothing in recovery mode for d/l works. It just says "no files found"
  4. xkape
    Offline

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,876
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH-IO
    I'd pull my card out and stick it in my comp but I have no reader that can take the micro SD card.
  5. serveitup911
    Offline

    serveitup911 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mount your SD card to your computer in recovery and download an 800 MHz standard voltage Froyo kernel. I think ChevyNo1 or P3Droid would work for your ROM.

    Rename any existing file named update.zip to something else before renaming the freshly downloaded kernel to update.zip.

    In sprecovery, choose install, then allow update.zip, then install update.zip (deprecated).

    EDIT: DON'T FORGET TO UNMOUNT (EJECT) THE SD CARD FROM YOUR COMPUTER BEFORE ATTEMPTING TO INSTALL OR UNHOOKING PHONE.
  6. xkape
    Offline

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,876
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH-IO
    let me take my battery out and give that a shot.. one moment please
  7. serveitup911
    Offline

    serveitup911 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do you have sprecovery or clockwork?
  8. xkape
    Offline

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,876
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH-IO
    I clicked mount sd card in advanced but what does that do. it doesnt show up on the computer or anything. i am plugged into the comp with the cable.
  9. xkape
    Offline

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,876
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH-IO
    i have both but i think right now i am in clockwork. my fault but i didnt think i would run into the issue or i would have used sp.
  10. serveitup911
    Offline

    serveitup911 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Crap, I'm not as familiar with Clockwork. So, the computer is not recognizing a removable storage device being connected? Maybe try a different USB port or reboot the computer. The SD card should be showing up on your computer.
  11. serveitup911
    Offline

    serveitup911 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do you have ADB set up on your computer?
  12. xkape
    Offline

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,876
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH-IO
    I got it to mount up. put the chevy 1ghz lw instead of ulw on. I mounted usb instead of sd.

    same prob though. i get to boot, it doesnt reset, it just keeps running and doing nothing.
  13. brochaos
    Offline

    brochaos New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    781
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    try another one. try a SV or MV. not all phones can run LV.
  14. serveitup911
    Offline

    serveitup911 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Okay great - that was my fault - I should have told you to enable USB storage in recovery. I think you will be fine from here, so be sure to do a nandroid backup once you are up and running again.
  15. xkape
    Offline

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,876
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH-IO
    whats adb? im not acronym savvy
  16. serveitup911
    Offline

    serveitup911 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, exactly. Your phone probably needs more voltage.

    That's why I recommended an 800 MHz SV kernel. Almost all droids should be able to run that.
  17. xkape
    Offline

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,876
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH-IO
    ok, let me try that. i was just trying to change cause i want some speed but my battery life sucks.
  18. brochaos
    Offline

    brochaos New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    781
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    you don't need adb if you can get your droid to show up as a USB device in windows while in clockworkmod. adb is just another way to communicate with your phone through a pc, it is the android developer kit.
  19. serveitup911
    Offline

    serveitup911 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Android Developer (or maybe Debug haha) Bridge. You won't need that, but that would have been the next step if your problem was more serious. You could have flashed sprecovery through that if your recovery was gone.

    Edit: Haha, Brochaos and I are simulposting and doubleteaming to help :)
  20. xkape
    Offline

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,876
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH-IO
    lets do this right. before I d/l something else that doesnt work. What should I get to have some speed but get some battery life?
Search tags for this page

kernel for galaxy nexus i515