Just made the switch

Discussion in 'Droid 2 Roms' started by d4dEf@c@, Oct 8, 2011.

DroidForums.net is the premier Android Forum - Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
  1. d4dEf@c@
    Offline

    d4dEf@c@ Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Colorado
    Ratings:
    +2
    New to liquid. Just installed last night from Rev's CM7 nightlies. Really liking Liquid so far. I love the extra lock-screens, i can still use theme chooser, and it is lightning smooth. This may become my new pony.
  2. combatmedic870
    Offline

    combatmedic870 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1,325
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Portland OR
    Ratings:
    +55
    Heck yah!! Its a very good rom!! i just switched my girls D2 to this and she loves it! Its pretty awesome how it has a list of launchers and all of that good stuff and yep....very user friendly.
  3. lpulle
    Offline

    lpulle Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lakeside,AZ
    Ratings:
    +0
    K.C.--

    KC or DRUMMER

    What do have to do to switch from CM. Remember l am new to this stuff. Took a week to figure out the nighties
  4. mgarney26
    Offline

    mgarney26 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    mobile alabama
    Ratings:
    +0
    i sbf'd back to 2.3.20 TBH & MyDroidWorld Present: Droid 2 (2.3.20) Triple Threat using rsd lite 5.5 (Download RSD Lite 5.5 | staryus) when you get done with the sbf go and download gingerbread ( menu, settings, about phone, system updates.) after you update use the droid 3 one click root method to root. download the file for liquid 3.0 and place on your sd card. download d2 bootstrap open d2 boot strap click the top button first then (after it says success) click the second button to go into recovery. while in recovery wipe data, cache, and dalvik cache. then go to install .zip from sd card look for the liquid file and install. that should get you on to liquid 3.0.
  5. MindArchr
    Offline

    MindArchr Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you on the Froyo CM version or the GB CM version?
  6. lpulle
    Offline

    lpulle Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lakeside,AZ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Mgarney26--but I was hoping for an easy way as I get all dumfounded.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  7. lpulle
    Offline

    lpulle Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lakeside,AZ
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am on CM GB version.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  8. mgarney26
    Offline

    mgarney26 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    mobile alabama
    Ratings:
    +0
    Don't worry I was the same way a few months ago...just follow the instructions I gave and it will work...I promise

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  9. mgarney26
    Offline

    mgarney26 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    mobile alabama
    Ratings:
    +0
    Also I could be wron but I'm pretty sure that's the only way to flash another rom to your phone.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  10. MindArchr
    Offline

    MindArchr Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you install the rooted GB (or the over the air version) before installing CM? Or did you just install CM without any extra steps? If you installed it over GB, then you can just wipe data/cache/delvik, and install the Liquid zip. If not, then you would need to install GB before installing Liquid.
  11. mgarney26
    Offline

    mgarney26 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    mobile alabama
    Ratings:
    +0
    Archer...are you saying that if I have the ota version of gb and install a rom then decide to go to another rom I don't have to sbf?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  12. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    Twitter:
    JSM9873
    That is correct. As long they require you to be on GB you should be able to wipe everything and install, no SBF. It is what I do on my DX and used to do with my D2.
  13. mgarney26
    Offline

    mgarney26 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    mobile alabama
    Ratings:
    +0
    I really wanna shoot myself in the head now...I did the whole sbf thing yesterday and darn near bricked my phone...still not sure how I scored on recovering the thing...wow...learn something ne everyday about these phones.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  14. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    Twitter:
    JSM9873
    Well dont do that, that would make SBFing or ROMing darn near impossible ;)

    And yes you/I do learn something everyday, keeps it fresh. But definitely as long as you wipe you should be good. I always throw in that I am ready to SBF just in case something happens since you never know. But thats just me being overly cautious.
  15. lpulle
    Offline

    lpulle Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lakeside,AZ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ya---the updated version is what I have---what you are saying is I can just install over CM----seeems too easy---explain how---not being a smart a**,but I don't know how.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums