JB 4.1 update

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR' started by marc434, Mar 28, 2013.

  1. Redsnk95

    Redsnk95 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Ratings:
    +14
    Hitting the search icon on the bottom right brings up Google Now. You can use it to request Navigation just like you would with Voice Commands. Or you can open Google Navigation and do the voice search through there.
     
  2. sbhsquared

    sbhsquared New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    But not without finding the second mic icon (upper part of the screen) and then talking - it's now a two step process for what used to be one step, and it's more difficult for me while driving. (My eyes just don't re-adjust that quickly from road to phone screen... what can I say, I'm old!) This truly is a step backwards for this phone. Same thing with opening Navigation and doing it from there. Smaller icons/middle of the screen versus one place - bottom right of the phone without even looking.
     
  3. sbhsquared

    sbhsquared New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Another thing I just discovered is that the music player I was using has disappeared, to be replaced by "Play Music". I don't know if this is a function of Play Music or JB, but now the music doesn't completely mute when the navigation speaks, it just dims the volume a little. I find it hard to hear the voice navigation over the music. I don't see anything under settings to change that, but I may be missing something.
     
  4. Redsnk95

    Redsnk95 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Ratings:
    +14
    Hmm. I just tapped the mic on the lower part of the phone. It opened up Google Now. I spoke "Google" and then it was ready to receive my commands. I said "Navigate to work", and it took about 1-2 seconds and it opened Google Navigation with voice directions to my work. Works just fine for me.
     
  5. _skibum

    _skibum Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    You are correct. They removed "navigate" from voice commands. However, if you say "navigation" it will open the app to a point where you can touch the mic icon (and a fairly large one at that) to say your destination. Still 2 taps on the home icon, and one on the mic.

    While I am typing this, I am fooling around with voice commands on my phone. This version appears to accept any app name. I double tapped home and said "barcode scanner", and it opened right up. I then said "voodoo rootkeper", and the phone repeated "voodoo OTA rootkeeper" and opened it right up.

    LOL I have the app for this forum on my phone. I double tapped home and said "droid forums", and phone said "did you mean call Bob mobile?". I tried it again, and it did the same for Chris. I tried it again, and it said "next time, say go to droid forums". I give up... :D
     
  6. sbhsquared

    sbhsquared New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks, Redsnk95 - the first several times I tried it, it took me to a Google search page with its idea of what I was saying, and then finally this last time it DID open navigation. It'll just take some getting used to, I guess.
     
  7. Redsnk95

    Redsnk95 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Ratings:
    +14
    Yea every once in awhile it doesn't get it right. And I don't expect it to be 100% perfect every time. I understand it to be a work in progress and will only improve as Google improves it. My only complaint is sometimes when I am connected to BT in my truck and activate Google Now voice commands, it gets stuck on Initiating Voice. Only happens when connected to BT in my truck.
     
  8. tindogify

    tindogify Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    It happened to me too. All I did was change Bluetooth and now it works perfect
     
Search tags for this page
verizon foxfi 800 4646
,
verizon update has blocked hot spot foxfi
,

verizon update killed foxfi

,
verizons droid update blocked foxfi 6/1/2014
,
xoom jb4.1 google serviced missing