PDANet (FoxFi) + Razr/Razr Maxx on JB 4.1.2 thread

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR' started by Redsnk95, Mar 8, 2013.

  1. Redsnk95
    Offline

    Redsnk95 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Since there are various threads on other topics with discussion of this, figured we could have a thread for it alone.

    I have tested PDANet on my Razr Maxx with the JB update. The WiFi hot-spot feature for internet access doesn't work for me. However, the Bluetooth mode is working for me just fine. In my particular case this is good for me, because I would only need this feature to power my Xoom tablet when out of WiFi range.

    Maybe the dev will be able to fix this in the future to enable to hot-spot feature in JB.

    The other method is to root and change the entitlements with SQ Editor.

    Troy
  2. brucin
    Offline

    brucin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    north jersey
    Is it possible to Bluetooth tether 2 devices to the Razr? Sometimes I need the tablet for me and the PC for the wife tethered at the same time.
  3. xtor
    Offline

    xtor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,303
    Likes Received:
    68
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    I don't think it is
  4. sgwilson1951
    Offline

    sgwilson1951 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Will Razr Maxx HD Tether To My Computer

    I have a Droid X on Verizon and have used PDANet to tether to my laptop so that I can get Internet access. Now, I'm thinking of upgrading to the Razr Maxx HD and wondering will this work the same way?

    This feature--without paying for a hotspot charge--is what I want to continune to be able to do when I need my laptop in an area where I have no other Internet access. If it won't work just as it does now, what DO I have to do to accomplish this without paying additional cost?
  5. brucin
    Offline

    brucin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    north jersey
    My understanding (feel free to correct me if i'm wrong) is that wifi tether will not work once you upgrade to Jelly Bean. You will have to tether the old fashioned way with your phone connected to the PC with a usb cable.

    You can root the device to get wifi tether but that is another story for another thread.
  6. sgwilson1951
    Offline

    sgwilson1951 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wired tether

    Wi-fi meaning a wireless (Bluetooth?) connection, right? I have never tried that with my Droid-X...have always used a hardline cable to connect the two and would happy if I could do that with the Razr Maxx HD as well. Will it work just the same way?

    Also, do I undersatand that with teh Razr Maxx I can now surf the web AND talk on the phone simultaneously, something I wasn't able to do with the Droid X?
  7. Miklb58
    Offline

    Miklb58 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a question. My Razr Maxx, both on GB and ICS has always been able to tether (both USB & Bluetooth), using no third party app.
    Did you ever achieve this prior to JB, and if so have you tried it since the upgrade?
    EDIT: I should note, that the tethering I refer to is a Win7 laptop, and my wife's original iPad.
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2013
  8. Redsnk95
    Offline

    Redsnk95 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    I remember being unable to tether using Bluetooth between my Xoom tab and Razr Maxx when it was on ICS. I used to be able to do it with my Droid 2 on GB. Unable to do so on JB. Only works with the PDAnet bluetooth function.
  9. bocabean
    Offline

    bocabean Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Florida
    Hey Red,

    Assuming that you are connecting to a Win7 computer, can you walk me through how you accomplished the Bluetooth connection. I did not receive the same screens as were shown on the JuneFabrics website. My system seemed to only want to pair for audio or as a very outdated PDA file sync. This is particularly frustrating to me as I have been a registered user for both the PDANet and FoxFi products. I'd hate to have to regress to the cable tether.

    Thanks,

    'Bean

    Thanks
  10. Npinkert
    Offline

    Npinkert New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    PDAnet offers two different wireless tethers - the wifi tether and the bluetooth tether.
    After upgrading the Razr / Razr Maxx to 4.1, the wifi tether no longer works, but the bluetooth tether works fine. (from personal experience)
    I have not tried to used the wired tether method as I use it for my tablet, but I have heard accounts in that it also works perfectly fine. The connection would work the same as on the Droid X.

    As far as surfing and talking, this is capable with any VW 4G phone; but take into account that it is only possible to do it on the 4G network. If the connection drops to the 3G, it will keep the voice and drop the data.
  11. xtor
    Offline

    xtor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,303
    Likes Received:
    68
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    This is why i loaded the 215 leak, i had a feeling they would block us from tether/hotspot, especially when I'm unlimited still

    razr on 215 leak
  12. bocabean
    Offline

    bocabean Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Florida
    I got it to work with BT. I do not think that I would use it that way in a public area. I thought that the wifi method was much more secure. But then again, there's always USB and I also have a MiFi if I feel like dragging another piece of gear along.
  13. Redsnk95
    Offline

    Redsnk95 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    I went ahead and rooted. Downloaded the wireless tether app for root and everything works just fine. The app was free didn't see the need to spend the money for the SQL Editor to activate the hot spot. Rooting took about 5 minutes. Glad I did it this way.
  14. tonyjh63
    Offline

    tonyjh63 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rome, GA.
    So you're now able to keep using Foxfire/PDAnet+ after upgrading to JB? If so, mind posting a step-by-step method of this "rooting" and such? Thanks for any info...

  15. Redsnk95
    Offline

    Redsnk95 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    I used the Razr Blade hack utility, I don't have the link handy but do a search it is easy to find. I uninstalled FoxFi/PDAnet, no need to use it.

    Used this app for WiFi hotspot:
    https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.googlecode.android.wifi.tether
  16. jp233
    Offline

    jp233 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm about to do the same thing, but cannot get the Moto Device Manager to run on my Win7 laptop. The service never starts, won't get listed in the Windoze Services list, and if I try to manually run any of the Moto applications I get some weird C++ runtime error.

    Anyone have this same issue? I'd really like to be able to tether to my 4G device sometimes.

    It's weird, I've always been able to transfer files to/from my Razr to this laptop, but the Moto Device Manager 2.3.7 as downloaded from Motorola, just will not work. I'll try it on my trusty Windows 2000 machine at home this weekend. Yes, I said Win2K and it is fantastic except for Flash support and some USB incompatibility/issues. Most stable OS ever.

    **Edit.... sorry clobbering the Foxfi/PDAnet thread, and rambling about a 13-14 year old Windoze OS
  17. Redsnk95
    Offline

    Redsnk95 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Have you downloaded the latest drivers from Moto?
  18. jp233
    Offline

    jp233 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    that's what I'm saying. I downloaded the moto USB driver 2.3.7 and tried to install it on my laptop and it doesn't work. So I'm thinking it's something with my laptop. It was strange when installing, that the laptop did not ask for Adminstrative permission to install it (work laptop, I have local admin password)

    I can transfer files on/off the Razr just fine, always have been able to. I thought these Moto drivers were special in that they could access parts of the Razr file structure and not just the Internal/External storage or something.

    Am I supposed to download something onto the Razr and install that? I didn't get that impression.

    Note: Basically I've tried the Razr-Blade root tool and it immediately gets stuck on "daemon loaded".... it never does anything with the phone. Yes, USB Debug was on, USB in MTP media device.
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2013
  19. jp233
    Offline

    jp233 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    update.... got on a different Win7 laptop, installed the Moto Device Manager fine, used the razr_blade hack tool and rooted easily. Not sure why my laptop wouldn't work, maybe Win7 Enterprise vs Win7 Pro, I dunno. Either way, I'm rooted and going for wifi tether now
  20. Redsnk95
    Offline

    Redsnk95 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Good deal. Much easier this way then waiting for PDANet to fix their problem.
Search tags for this page
android 4.1.2 pdanet
,
can i get pdanet on my ipad
,
does pdanet work on jelly bean
,
droid razr pdanet
,

foxfi android 4.1.2

,
foxfi no internet access
,
foxfi not working on razr maxx
,
foxfi verizon 4.1.2
,
pda net for android won't stay connected
,
pda net jellybean 4.1 hotspot fix
,
pdanet droid maxx
,
pdanet droid razr maxx
,

pdanet jelly bean fix

,
razr maxx 4.1.2 pdanet
,
tether my droid razr maxx to my computer to use wifi