Is this even possible?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by jessel0001, Jan 28, 2011.

  1. jessel0001

    jessel0001 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have been wondering this for some time now. I have looked at the tear down pictures of both the Droid 2 and the OG Droid and noticed that the RAM chips are the same size in the same place. I know that it would be very invasive to the phones and require soldering, but would it even be possible to swap the RAM chips out between then phones? dancedroid
     

    Attached Files:

  2. brando56894

    brando56894 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    It could probably be possible technically, but damn near impossible to do physically!
     
  3. jessel0001

    jessel0001 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah I'm there with you, seeings how the chip covers are soldered in place for the D2, I guess what I'm after more specifically is would the software recognize the new RAM and still function properly...
     
  4. tonydelite

    tonydelite Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Royal Oak, MI
    Ratings:
    +0
    Never say never, but you would need extremely specialized equipment. That chip appears to be a BGA type chip (ball grid array). You basically need to heat it at a specific temperature, reball it, and then resolder it to the new board. Without xray equipment, it would be very hard to know if it was done properly.

    On top of that, I don't know if the Droid firmware would automatically address the new RAM or if it would have to be specifically programmed for it.

    It's worth a shot if you have a spare you don't care about, but you have an extremely uphill battle.
     
  5. Liderc

    Liderc Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,269
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +45
    Ram is pretty interchangeable as long as they share the same amount of pins, but soldering isn't easy. You mess up, you kill the PCB. I'd have to say don't try it.
     
  6. AngryHatter

    AngryHatter Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    SMT - no way without a wave solder machine.
     
  7. jessel0001

    jessel0001 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    what is a wave solder machine?
     
  8. brando56894

    brando56894 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    Isnt that the truth. I tried to JTAG my xbox360 last year and got some stray solder on the PCB and shorted out the southbridge.
     
  9. Liderc

    Liderc Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,269
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +45
    A solder wave is simply a conveyor belt that runs PCB ( green boards in above pics) right above a vat of heated solder. As the PCB runs over the vat of solder, it solders each point instantly, without needing to individually solder each point.
     
Search tags for this page

how to solder new ram on android phone