Is the Droid 1 any good during international travel?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by RenegadeX28, Jan 17, 2011.

  1. RenegadeX28
    Offline

    RenegadeX28 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm headed to London later this year and I forget that Europe uses GSM instead of CDMA out there. I remember when I had go to Dominican Rep. earlier this year, they said it would be 1.99 a min and if I wanted data out there, they offered me a special data plan that month for 64.99. If not, it was gonna be 1.99 per mb which would definitely add up for a phone like the droid 1. Does anyone happen to know if the Droid 1 (AT least the data) would work in London?
     
  2. darkmatter
    Offline

    darkmatter Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Wasn't that the point of the droid2 global?

    Anyway, id say find a voip that can work on wifi (like mangler..if you know of a vent server)

    Best bet, imo, would be to buy a prepaid phone
     
  3. takeshi
    Offline

    takeshi Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nope -- the data relies on the carrier network so a CDMA device won't get data on a GSM network.

    You can, however, use WiFi when available.
     
  4. mslal
    Offline

    mslal Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Ratings:
    +1
    I had zero luck with my unrooted Droid1 in any European country I visited in the past year - France, Switzerland, Austria, Germany, Ireland, Italy. Not even wifi
     
  5. Liderc
    Offline

    Liderc Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,265
    Likes Received:
    43
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +43
    I believe the droid 2 is your only choice, as the droid 1 will not work on GSM.
     
  6. dezymond
    Online

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    11,047
    Likes Received:
    745
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +757
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Galaxy s4
    Don't think it would work as you stated they use GSM already.

    Probably gonna have to pick up a temporary prepaid phone if they got those.
     
  7. paul7602
    Offline

    paul7602 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Dallas Tx
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wifi

    I think you can go into airplane mode and use the skype from the market not the one that comes pre installed or thats what ive been told
     
  8. BigMcGuire
    Offline

    BigMcGuire Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Ratings:
    +2
    I went to Peru twice in 2010. Yes, the Droid 1 worked there. However, it was almost $3/min. So 10 minutes of talking resulted in a $30 charge on my bill each trip. I just got one of those prepaid Telefonica phones at the airport. Much cheaper to bring your own unlocked phone and get a local sim card. Yes, used Sipdroid with my own voip to call home a lot via WiFi.
     
  9. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
Search tags for this page

droid 1 global

,
droid 1 in europe
,
droid global 1
,
droid global one
,
droid original global
,
is the motorola droid original international
,
motorola droid 1 global
,
motorola droid global 1
,
original droid work internationally
,
willa peru sim card work in a motorolla bionic