Is it possible to get an ICS ROM?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X2' started by litetaker, Nov 28, 2011.

  1. litetaker

    litetaker Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just saw the post for the Droid Bionic and Droid 3. They both got an Alpha version of an ICS ROM. As far as I know, neither got the ICS OTA yet. And, as far as I can tell, both still have a locked bootloader. Still, they seem to be running an ICS port. So, I was wondering, if Moto and the Big Red don't plan to show this phone some love and release an ICS OTA, can we still get it somehow in the form of a port by some dev?

    I don't understand how this works. Without a bootloader, we don't have the ability to load a custom kernel, right? But then, how can we load Android 4.0.1? Do we load it over the old kernel or something?

    -- Cheers.
     
  2. myriad46

    myriad46 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Upstate, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    The only ROM that I have heard of that is actual ICS source built is Cyanogen Mod 9, which is still in the beta phase. Though they support an immense amount of phones, they do only cover phones with unlokced bootloaders, as some of their standard CM features require it. All ROMs for the DX2 currently are based on OTA ROMS not from a source code, not yet applied to our phone. It's going to take some time, it is at all possible.
     
  3. litetaker

    litetaker Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
  4. myriad46

    myriad46 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Upstate, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
  5. litetaker

    litetaker Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can you explain how that answers the question? I still don't understand how ICS is running on either Bionic or Droid 3... And btw, if this can be done on these two phones, can it be done on the X2?
     
  6. myriad46

    myriad46 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Upstate, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    We haven't seen Cyanogen for the DX2 yet, so I wouldn't count on a full port. Can it happen eventually? Probably. It will more come down to hardware restrictions. I wouln't be suprised if you saw ICS elements (not just colors) popping up in more and more ROMS for the DX2. They are going to come to the more poulous phones first, though....which is not the DX2.
     
  7. shaggykid

    shaggykid Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    I believe liquid has the ics rom too

    Sent from your mom's house using my Droid X
     
  8. s3pt1k

    s3pt1k New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    No. D3 and Droid Bionic have a different boot system which is currently being hijacked through a program called safestrap. AFAIK, the possibility for the DX2 does not exist because of this difference in booting. So long as you're using a device with a locked bootloader, you'll be under more rom restriction.

    Edit: Oh, and the Bionic/D3 are booting using the 2.x (gingerbread) kernel since, like on most Moto phones except the OG Droid, the bootloader is locked (as previously mentioned).
     
    #8 s3pt1k, Dec 4, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2011
Search tags for this page
droid x2 4.01
,

droid x2 ics rom

,
ics rom for droid x2