Is Droid 4 ready for foreign SIMs?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 4' started by New Daddy, May 1, 2013.

  1. New Daddy

    New Daddy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Is Droid 4 ready for foreign SIMs? I have a feeling the Verizon Wireless is intentionally delaying the roll out of this feature so it can continue to sell their more expensive global roaming.
     
  2. kanuck

    kanuck New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Canada
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been running mine on a Canadian SIM in Canada since the ICS update opened up GSM. Haven't tried it stateside yet, though.
     
  3. silver6054

    silver6054 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yes, works fine with foreign sims outside the US. Band lock prevents any GSM use in the US
     
  4. New Daddy

    New Daddy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Are you on Verizon Wireless? Verizon always places bans that other carriers don't.
     
  5. silver6054

    silver6054 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yes, Verizon Wireless, but I don't think anyone has managed to remove the block (on XDA anyway)
     
  6. New Daddy

    New Daddy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    What "block"?
     
  7. myfishbear

    myfishbear Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    in the sea. sometimes on land as well
    Ratings:
    +31
    carrier lock. d4 accepts foreign gsm just not domestic. thats what makes it a global phone. you just have to add global apns
     
  8. silver6054

    silver6054 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
Search tags for this page
droid 4 foreign sim
,

droid 4 global ready

,
is droid 4 global ready
,
is the droid 4 global ready
,
sim verizon band lock