Droid 4 with foreign SIM

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 4' started by avrave, Sep 6, 2012.

  1. avrave

    avrave New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, I was looking to upgrade my phone before I travel to England. I was looking at getting a global phone. Currently, I have a droid 2 and would like to have a similar phone.

    At the Verizon store (both online and in store), they do not list the Droid 4 as a global phone. However, on the Motorola website, they do list the droid 4 as "global ready." The only phones that verizon said were "global ready" were the droid razr, droid razr max, and iphone 4s. At the moment, I am leaning towards trying out the iphone 4s.

    I keep finding conflicting information on using a droid 4 globally. Is the phone locked? Is there anything I would need to do with Verizon before I can use the droid 4 on a UK local carrier?
     
  2. silver6054

    silver6054 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    The droid 4 is now global with ICS, it is listed as a global phone in the global phone section of the website.


    It's unlocked, so you can use a foreign sim (microsim)
     
  3. avrave

    avrave New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    silver6054, thanks for the reply.

    When I was at the store, I noticed the demo models for the droid 4 were running ICS, and I brought it up. The sales women said that while the droid 4 had the ICS, the global functionality isn't available yet, but will be in a few weeks whenever its ready.

    I don't know if they just are wrong, or if there is something they aren't telling us. If you look at International Cell Phones - Global-Ready Phones| Verizon Wireless you see the droid razr and iphone 4s listed, but not the droid 4. They were right about those 2 being global ready at the Verizon store, but also said that the droid 4 was not global ready.

    Also, everything I've looked up on Google has to do with the razr being international, I've found little about the droid 4 using local GSM cards.
     
  4. silver6054

    silver6054 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    You have to love the Verizon Wireless web site. I was talking about the Global phone page, Global Phone

    Which does show the Droid 4!

    There are lots of reports on other forums of this phone working fine internationally, both with the Vodafone sim and the local SIM, and the UK was one of the first success reports. I am currently in the US, so I can't confirm easily, but I can put a foreign SIM in my phone and it accepts it without complaint (carrier block prevents a GSM connection to a us carrier) See Droid 4 working in the UK - success and howto - xda-developers for example, originally dealing with the ICS leak but the OTA is the same.
     
  5. Big D

    Big D Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can confirm that an ICS D4 will work with a SIM card in London. I bought one from Car Phone Warehouse (so funny) for 10 pounds that gave me 300 minutes/300 texts and unlimited data. I never got data to work though. Something about manually changing the apn (which is only slightly less complicated than advanced molecular biophysics).

    But yeah, it definitely works.
     
  6. silver6054

    silver6054 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I used the Talkmobile SIMs from Carphone Warehouse (on my D2G, haven't been there since I got the 4). Worked fine, and the site has documentation on how to set the APN, which worked fine (on that phone!). Didn't get unlimited, but 25MB per day for 15 cents, which is much much better than Verizon's 100MB for $25!
     
  7. Big D

    Big D Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Maybe I'm just stoopit.
     
  8. MidnightLight

    MidnightLight New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I used my Droid 4 ICS successfully on GSM networks in Asia last month. Worked like a charm.
     
  9. mikegannon

    mikegannon New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK, I just obtained a Droid 4 on my last visit to the US and when I got it him did the OTA update via wifi to ICS and inserted my O2 SIM and verified that it registered on the O2 network and could see HSDPA/HSUPA networks. Great !

    Now for the interesting question.
    If I take this phone back to the US and in Global Mode with my UK O2 SIM installed, will it allow me to obtain service whilst roaming.

    Verizon do not have any roaming agreement with O2 so, my question is this. In Global Mode will the phone let me select AT&T or T-Mobile 2G service at 850/1900Mhz or even AT&T 4G service at 700Mhz which is the same band as Verizon ?

    Or should I take a backup phone on my next trip.

    Thanks

    Mike
     
  10. Benton

    Benton Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    With a foreign SIM card in the Droid 4 (or any Verizon global ready phone), once in the US you will not be able to use the GSM services of AT&T, T-Mobile, etc. I live in the US using Verizon service and have a Vodaphone account as well for mainly Asia travels. I insert the Vodaphone SIM when I travel abroad but if I leave it in place when I return to the US the phone goes straight to the Verizon service only. There may be hacks for the radio to avoid this but I am not aware of any.
     
  11. mikegannon

    mikegannon New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0


    Thanks

    I suspected as much.

    Mike
     
  12. dh98402

    dh98402 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Droid 4 does work with micro sim in UK

    I have a Droid 4 and have been to the UK a few times over the last few months. Ever since they did the ICS update the global settings are unlocked and it will take a foreign sim. You can pick up a pay as you go sim at W.H. Smith at Heathrow airport and it will work right off with voice calls but you will have to go online to get the settings for using data on the Droid 4 before it will work correctly. My phone always shows the sim as unknown but works just fine anyway. If you haven't used your phone globally before you will need to check your network settings once you have your new sim in and verify what network it is set on. You can top up as they call it, add more money to your pay as you go card from your phone or at many local shops or online. Hope this information is helpful.
     
Search tags for this page
does droid 4 work internationally
,

droid 4 global

,

droid 4 global ready

,

droid 4 international

,
droid 4 international sim
,
is droid 4 global
,
is droid 4 global ready
,
is the droid 4 global ready
,
motorola droid 4 global
,
motorola droid 4 global ready