Internal Memory?

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by blackngray70, Mar 17, 2011.

  1. blackngray70

    blackngray70 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Georgia
    Ratings:
    +0
    When you go to settings/SD & phone storage, what does your internal phone storage say for available memory?

    Mine says 2.40GB. Shouldn't it be somewhere around 8GB?

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
     
  2. Dr.Soul

    Dr.Soul Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Jackson, TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    system with bloat takes up most of that 8g
     
  3. kptphalkon

    kptphalkon Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +6
    I have maybe 700 MB of the 6.6 GB USED

    Holy hell man!
     
  4. BigMcGuire

    BigMcGuire Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Ratings:
    +2
    Mine says 2.46GB free. Sure beats the 70MB free I had on my OG Droid but still, I really am disliking all this bloatware.
     
  5. Parafly9

    Parafly9 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Uxbridge, MA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had 2.4 as well

    Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk
     
  6. kptphalkon

    kptphalkon Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +6
    The thing is, I have full stock with all the bloat. Most if not all but 1 of my apps are stored on the internal memory
     
  7. dirtyfingers

    dirtyfingers Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +1
    Wow, that is a ridiculous amount of bloat. Hopefully we get root soon so we can ditch most of that garbage!
     
  8. funkyb

    funkyb Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    STL
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine also says 2.5GB free, but that is not what concerns me. When I run Elixir, it says TOTAL 2.6GB right under the 2.5GB free. What is up with that? Is Elixir wrong, am I interpreting this wrong, or does this phone have 2.6GB of total internal flash storage?
     
  9. sportadic22

    sportadic22 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    ya there is soooo much i want to get rid off.. its crowding my app menu hahaa
     
  10. blackngray70

    blackngray70 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Georgia
    Ratings:
    +0
    This phone is supposed to have 8GB's of internal memory. I find it hard to believe that the OS and bloatware is using 5 1/2 GB's.

    My Inc had 8GB and it usually showed about 6GB free.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
     
  11. funkyb

    funkyb Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    STL
    Ratings:
    +0
    Forget free, Elixir says 2.6GB Total... wth?
     
  12. Mustang02

    Mustang02 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,249
    Likes Received:
    100
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    Ratings:
    +106
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Maxx
    Mini info is showing 2.4GB for me as well. There is a lot of bloat so who knows until we get root to remove it.
     
  13. kptphalkon

    kptphalkon Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +6
    Well when formatted the card should have ~7.2 of that 8 Gigs available. And yes it is frackin impossible that the OS and preinstalled apps are using over 5 gigabytes...a freshly loaded desktop windows 7 won't even use half of that (depending on options).
     
  14. givmedew

    givmedew Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    St Pete, FL and Aurora, IL
    Ratings:
    +0

    win 7 takes 16gb and doesnt have options to reduce install size without using a very difficult to use advanced application.

    anyways that asside i did notice that there is not a emmc folder in the system directory like on the incredile. also the camera doesnt function without the card unlike the incredible which leads me to believe this internal memory is meant to be used differentely.
     
  15. dexstar

    dexstar New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Noticed this. Kind of new to Android but did some digging with astro and a folder called proc was HUGE, I looked inside and there were literally hundreds of folders all containing the same 30~ files.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
     
Search tags for this page
access internal storage htc inspire
,
accessing internal storage on htc inspire
,
droid x2 4gb internal
,
how much internal memory does the htc inspire have
,
how to access internal memory on htc thunderbolt
,
how to clear memory on htc thunderbolt
,
how to look at your internal memory on htc inspire
,

htc inspire internal memory

,

htc thunderbolt internal storage

,
repartitioned internal memory to 2.4gb/