Internal Memory?

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by blackngray70, Mar 17, 2011.

  1. blackngray70
    Offline

    blackngray70 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
    When you go to settings/SD & phone storage, what does your internal phone storage say for available memory?

    Mine says 2.40GB. Shouldn't it be somewhere around 8GB?

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
  2. Dr.Soul
    Offline

    Dr.Soul New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jackson, TN
    system with bloat takes up most of that 8g
  3. kptphalkon
    Offline

    kptphalkon New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have maybe 700 MB of the 6.6 GB USED

    Holy hell man!
  4. BigMcGuire
    Offline

    BigMcGuire New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Mine says 2.46GB free. Sure beats the 70MB free I had on my OG Droid but still, I really am disliking all this bloatware.
  5. Parafly9
    Offline

    Parafly9 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Uxbridge, MA
    I had 2.4 as well

    Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk
  6. kptphalkon
    Offline

    kptphalkon New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The thing is, I have full stock with all the bloat. Most if not all but 1 of my apps are stored on the internal memory
  7. dirtyfingers
    Offline

    dirtyfingers New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Wow, that is a ridiculous amount of bloat. Hopefully we get root soon so we can ditch most of that garbage!
  8. funkyb
    Offline

    funkyb New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    Mine also says 2.5GB free, but that is not what concerns me. When I run Elixir, it says TOTAL 2.6GB right under the 2.5GB free. What is up with that? Is Elixir wrong, am I interpreting this wrong, or does this phone have 2.6GB of total internal flash storage?
  9. sportadic22
    Offline

    sportadic22 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ya there is soooo much i want to get rid off.. its crowding my app menu hahaa
  10. blackngray70
    Offline

    blackngray70 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
    This phone is supposed to have 8GB's of internal memory. I find it hard to believe that the OS and bloatware is using 5 1/2 GB's.

    My Inc had 8GB and it usually showed about 6GB free.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
  11. funkyb
    Offline

    funkyb New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    Forget free, Elixir says 2.6GB Total... wth?
  12. Mustang02
    Online

    Mustang02 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,116
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    Mini info is showing 2.4GB for me as well. There is a lot of bloat so who knows until we get root to remove it.
  13. kptphalkon
    Offline

    kptphalkon New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well when formatted the card should have ~7.2 of that 8 Gigs available. And yes it is frackin impossible that the OS and preinstalled apps are using over 5 gigabytes...a freshly loaded desktop windows 7 won't even use half of that (depending on options).
  14. givmedew
    Offline

    givmedew New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    St Pete, FL and Aurora, IL

    win 7 takes 16gb and doesnt have options to reduce install size without using a very difficult to use advanced application.

    anyways that asside i did notice that there is not a emmc folder in the system directory like on the incredile. also the camera doesnt function without the card unlike the incredible which leads me to believe this internal memory is meant to be used differentely.
  15. dexstar
    Offline

    dexstar New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Noticed this. Kind of new to Android but did some digging with astro and a folder called proc was HUGE, I looked inside and there were literally hundreds of folders all containing the same 30~ files.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
  16. Natejka7273
    Offline

    Natejka7273 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, P.A.
    Just throwing this out there, but could it be virtual memory? I know computers do this (my mac has ~6GB of it) so maybe smartphones do this too. It could also be used for memory protection/ the fast boot thing. I know on my mac 4GB are used on the hard drive which are an exact copy of the DDR memory so that if the computer shuts off suddenly it can be restored and so that the sleep mode can use even less power. Maybe the quick boot thing on the Thunderbolt works the same way? Just some ideas.
  17. JonKyu
    Offline

    JonKyu New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    2,398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Provo, UT
    Hey guys this was answered in another thread. According to htc this is a software problem and will hopefully be fixed in an upcoming update.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk
  18. rjcapp
    Offline

    rjcapp New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MD
    2.48GB as well
  19. dimap
    Offline

    dimap New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My guess is that there is a duplicate copy of the OS on the internal memory for security/backup reasons. In the event the phone is rooted, after the phone is reset, the duplicate OS is then rebooted, thereby unrooting it and returning it to factory condition. This was done on the HTC MyTouch4G for T-Mobile, and might be a common feature of HTC Androids moving forward.
  20. BigMcGuire
    Offline

    BigMcGuire New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Almost 70% of Internal Memory is Missing. - HTC Thunderbolt (Verizon) - Android Forums - HTC Community --- if you take the time to read this, near the end, it looks like it is 4GB and not 8GB, or it was 8GB and then half of it was partitioned to not be used, and then we get half of that (2GB).

    Either way, I paid for 8GB and I'm only getting 2.40GB. After I get everything set up I have 2.39GB free. This isn't what I paid for. I realize a lot of it is partitioned up but again, I paid for 8GB, not 2.39GB.
Search tags for this page
access internal storage htc inspire
,
accessing internal storage on htc inspire
,

droid x2 4gb internal

,
how much internal memory does the htc inspire have
,

how to access internal memory on htc thunderbolt

,
how to change to internal memory on htc thunderbolt
,

how to clear memory on htc thunderbolt

,

how to look at your internal memory on htc inspire

,

htc inspire internal memory

,

htc thunderbolt internal storage

,

repartitioned internal memory to 2.4gb/

,
where is the phone storage on htc thunderbolt