Memory question

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by jmd, Apr 20, 2011.

  1. jmd

    jmd New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, La
    Ratings:
    +0
    The specs say the thunderbolt comes with 8gigs internal. Where is it? When I look at my storage it only shows about 500mb internal and my 32 gig card.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  2. km04

    km04 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    welcome from a newbie! this has been a point of discussion in many threads. the main theory seems to be that the TB does in fact come with 8GB internal, but not all of it is available to the user. it is apparently setup in a pseudo-raid array, giving you 2-4GB drives that mirror each other, thereby reducing your drive to 4GB. after the OS and bloatware that comes preinstalled(and unremoveable at the moment), you are left with roughly 2.5-2.7GB of user available space. proponents of this theory say that is fine, live with it(the 2.7 GB), you got a 32GB card, stop whining. others say they want to be able to delete the unused bloatware AND have as much of the 8 GB available as possible.

    those are the 2 biggest sides of the story, if you want more, google is your friend.
     
    #2 km04, Apr 20, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2011
  3. MrKleen

    MrKleen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +5
    LOL, I just wanted to say I liked your answer.

    P.S. We are able to remove the bloatware after rooting.
     
  4. km04

    km04 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks, i had the same question when i got my TB(switched from BB). i seem to have more questions than answers so if i can help someone else then that's good.

    i didn't tell him about rooting. not sure of his skill level so i didn't want to "muddy the water" with stuff he didn't ask about.(i think that is from the military, only answer the question you were asked solider!!!)
     
  5. jmd

    jmd New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, La
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm familiar and have to knowledge to root, I've done all my other phones, haven't rooted my tb yet. Not sure if I will either, probably gonna give it to my wife and get the bionic when it ever hits the market. Just wondering about the memory cause it seems like somewhere somehow it should able to be seen even if its unusable. I called Verizon and asked them about it and they couldn't even answer the question , so was thinking that it maybe bs.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums