Installing Liberty 1.5 - Few questions first...

Discussion in 'Liberty ROM DX' started by EvanTheGamer, Feb 9, 2011.

  1. EvanTheGamer
    Offline

    EvanTheGamer Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello all,

    I'm entirely new to the whole rom/theme scene. I've been wanting to install a rom on my Droid X for awhile now, but nothing really stuck out to me, that's until I seen Liberty ROM.

    Anyways, before I install the rom, I have a few questions first:

    • 1. Once I go through the data wipe/factory reset process, install Liberty ROM, restart, and do a restore, all my apps will be re-downloaded/re-installed? Also, is there a way to specifically select each app I want to install, rather than restore all apps at once?
    • 2. Are all my current apps compatible with Liberty ROM, or does it matter, as long as I have Android 2.2, and that the apps are compatible with that update?
    • 3. I'm using LauncherPro currently, but besides the customized homescreens/widgets not returning, after doing a full restore, everything goes back to the way it was before, but with Liberty ROM installed?

    I think that's it for now. I'll update this thread if I can think of any other questions.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated! :)

    Thank you!
     
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2011
  2. brenneisec
    Offline

    brenneisec Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cypress, TX
    Ratings:
    +0

    1. All of your apps will sync from your google account. My advice is to go on wifi as soon as you can and this will be extremely fast.

    2. All of your apps will work just like they should.

    3. Once you factory reset, your phone does just that, goes back to the factory state. Meaning no apps, no contacts, no widgets. The contacts and apps will be restored from your google account. You will have to recreate your home screens.

    hope this helps,
    camdroid
     
  3. EvanTheGamer
    Offline

    EvanTheGamer Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    On #3...when I back up everything using Titanium Backup, after the ROM has been installed, wouldn't I use TB to restore everything?

    Thanks for the help!
     
  4. brenneisec
    Offline

    brenneisec Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cypress, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    what exactly are you trying to back up? cuz google will take care of your contacts and apps
     
  5. EvanTheGamer
    Offline

    EvanTheGamer Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well...basically all system data, bookmarks, app data, etc. Even game save data, just everything. Sorry, kinda vague, but can't really explain any better than that.

    Besides using Google to re-download/re-install all my apps, wouldn't I still use Titanium Backup or otherwise to restore everything else?
     
  6. brenneisec
    Offline

    brenneisec Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cypress, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    from what i understand, you can just restore anything youve backed up from TiBo after you flash liberty
     
  7. xliderider
    Offline

    xliderider Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    Ratings:
    +1
    Restoring all Data from your previous rom with Titanium Backup is asking for trouble. You can restore all apps and app data, but as far as System Data, just restore stuff like bookmarks and BT settings and that's about it.
     
  8. EvanTheGamer
    Offline

    EvanTheGamer Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ahh, okay, sweet!

    So once I install the ROM, there will be an option to flash it, right?
     
  9. brenneisec
    Offline

    brenneisec Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cypress, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    i stand corrected
     
  10. xliderider
    Offline

    xliderider Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have no idea what this means. :confused:

    Flash what?
     
  11. brenneisec
    Offline

    brenneisec Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cypress, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    just follow the exact directions step by step from the OP of the liberty 1.5 thread and you shouldnt have any problems.

    if you have any questions about it you can ask here or the other ways to contact me
     
  12. EvanTheGamer
    Offline

    EvanTheGamer Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry...never mind about flashing...:)
     
  13. EvanTheGamer
    Offline

    EvanTheGamer Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay, definitely. Will follow all the instructions and hopefully it'll turn out fine. And yep, will ask questions if I come across any issues.

    Thanks to the both of you! :)
     
  14. brenneisec
    Offline

    brenneisec Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cypress, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    anytime man. questions never hurt! thats how ive learned and am still learning!
     
  15. xliderider
    Offline

    xliderider Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    Ratings:
    +1
    Remember to wipe Data and Cache before installing Liberty. Then 99% of any problems will be averted.
     
Search tags for this page

evanthegamer

,

install liberty rom 1.5 droid x