Increasing Droid Razr RAM

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Accessories' started by Cloudthumper, Aug 4, 2012.

  1. Cloudthumper
    Offline

    Cloudthumper New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is there any accessory, download, anything that I can buy that will increase the amount of RAM in my Droid Razr? Now, I'm not talking about storage. I'd get a micro SD card for that. I'm talking about RAM.

    Thanks.
  2. Sydman
    Offline

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,419
    Likes Received:
    205
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    That would be sweet for sure but no, there are some apps that claim to be a ram optimizer but not sure their worth.

    But just a general increase no. Also welcome to the forum!

    Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX.
  3. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,335
    Likes Received:
    617
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    Welcome to the droid forums :)
  4. tjk629
    Offline

    tjk629 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,037
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    0
    1GB should be good enough. Are you having any issues?
  5. Sydman
    Offline

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,419
    Likes Received:
    205
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    I wouldn't mind 2gb myself :)
  6. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,335
    Likes Received:
    617
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    If he wants 2^^^^ I want 4 ;)
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2012
  7. Cloudthumper
    Offline

    Cloudthumper New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you for welcoming me to the community. I appreciate your responses.

    I might be a RAM a hog but many of the system apps are using a lot of RAM:
    Settings 32MB
    Google Services 13MB
    Email 32MB
    Homescreen 44MB
    Swype 36MB

    Other apps don't use much but all together they total about 640MB of RAM.

    I was surprised at how much RAM was in use. Many apps don't have a Quit or Exit button as if that would make a difference.

    Anyway, I guess I'll just have to make do.

    Thanks for your help.
  8. pinoy_92
    Offline

    pinoy_92 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    the RAM on the razr is directly soldered to the motherboard. unless you know how to redesign the motherboard of the razr, then getting more ram is a dream within a dream.
  9. MightyT01
    Offline

    MightyT01 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I've always liked Auto Memory Manager.

    Sent from my rooted Droid Razr Maxx on Tapatalk 2.
  10. Raw Dodge
    Offline

    Raw Dodge New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My new S3 us really no faster than my razr was and it's got plenty of ram.... I doubt you'd see much change if you could swap it out.

    Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
  11. Sydman
    Offline

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,419
    Likes Received:
    205
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    The RAZR has the same 1GB of RAM the S3 does.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX.
  12. mgrande
    Offline

    mgrande Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    The s3 has 2gb of ram

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk 2
  13. Sydman
    Offline

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,419
    Likes Received:
    205
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Oh okay, every spec sheet I read on the internet said other wise.

    " Specs
    136.6 x 70.6 x 8.6mm
    133 grams
    Display: 4.8-inch HD Super AMOLED (1280×720) Pentile (no Plus)
    Processor: Exynos 4 Quad @ 1.4Ghz for HSPA version
    1GB of RAM
    Rear Camera: 8MP Autofocus, Flash, Zero Lag Shutter BSI Image sensor
    Front Camera: 1.9 MP HD, Flash, Zero Lag Shutter
    Video: Full HD 1080p Recording and Playback
    Storage: 16GB/32GB/64GB
    2,100mAh battery
    GPS with GLONASS
    802.11n Wi-Fi, NFC, Bluetooth 4
    microSD expansion
    21Mbps HSPA, LTE supported
    Micro SIM"

    That is what is was going off of.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX.
  14. Raikkonen
    Online

    Raikkonen Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hmm, swore I saw spec sheets listing Snapdragon S4 dual core with 2GB RAM
  15. Sydman
    Offline

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,419
    Likes Received:
    205
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    I am not sure, since I don't have one I was only going off of what I found. Saw five different sites all listing it as 1GB, one of those being a Samsung site so that is why I mentioned it. However that could be incorrect, where is bsweetness he has one of those things....
  16. droidx2010
    Offline

    droidx2010 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does anyone know what may be causing my Google Voice to be not sending messages? A few weeks ago, I tried to send messages & it seems to be stuck in send mode & I have to force a shut down. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
  17. drew96dawg
    Offline

    drew96dawg New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,108
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mobile Al
    On the lte version the quad-core wouldn't function right so they compensated with an extra gig of ram:D

    Sent from my DROID2 using Xparent Blue Tapatalk 2
  18. drew96dawg
    Offline

    drew96dawg New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,108
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mobile Al
    To improve ram I use an app called fast reboot. I frees up 150-250mb on this old d2 so it should work great for 1gig

    Sent from my DROID2 using Xparent Blue Tapatalk 2
  19. Sydman
    Offline

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,419
    Likes Received:
    205
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Might want to create a new thread about your issue, since it is unrelated might get better support that way.
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2012
  20. bsweetness
    Offline

    bsweetness Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,503
    Likes Received:
    96
    Trophy Points:
    48
    The international 3G/HSPA+ version of the S3 has the quad-core Exynos 1.4GHz processor and 1 GB of RAM.

    All of the LTE versions of the S3 have the dual-core Snapdragon S4 1.5GHz processor and 2GB of RAM (except for the Korean super-duper version that has LTE, a quad-core processor, and 2GB of RAM). The T-Mobile version is the only one I know of that has the dual-core Snapdragon S4 and 2GB of RAM with no LTE (just HSPA+).
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2012
Search tags for this page
app thst uses sd card space as ram droid razr
,
droid razr maxx hd ram usage
,
droid razr maxx increase ram
,
droid razr ram
,

droid razr ram upgrade

,
droid razrr max ram
,
how to add ram on my droid razr
,
how to increase memory on droid razr
,

how to increase ram on droid razr

,
how to increase ram on droid razr maxx
,
increase ram on droid razr maxx
,
ram on droid razr
,
razr maxx increase ram
,
razr maxx ram
,
razr ram usage