ICS-What happens to the phones home buttons?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by TisMyDroid, May 19, 2012.

  1. TisMyDroid

    TisMyDroid Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,451
    Likes Received:
    354
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +354
    Someone with leaked ICS may be able to help with this question. When your phone gets ICS, given that the ICS launcher has a home, back and menu button, what happens to the phone's native buttons? Do they become extinct, can they be customized, or do they continue to work the same?

    Sent from my DROID RAZR Maxx using Droid Forums
     
  2. Dave12308

    Dave12308 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,253
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +50
    Devices with hardware buttons continue to use them, the software "buttons" are only for phones that lack them. If you look at screenshots of the leak, you will notice that the on-screen buttons are not present.
     
  3. 94lt1

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    14,102
    Likes Received:
    2,013
    Trophy Points:
    693
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +2,237
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo
    Kewl, this answers our question. Thank you very much.

    DROID RAZR MAXXAMIZED!!!
     
  4. 94lt1

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    14,102
    Likes Received:
    2,013
    Trophy Points:
    693
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +2,237
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo
    Wow your first post and bam.. an answer right away. You must have good luck ;)

    DROID RAZR MAXXAMIZED!!!
     
  5. TisMyDroid

    TisMyDroid Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,451
    Likes Received:
    354
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +354
    Hehehehe... or maybe good timing, lol or just maybe a dedicated post. But gee, I may even start a thread again. Except usually I can find the answers I'm looking for (or the questions I would ask) already here.

    Thanks for the encouragement 94¡

    Sent from my DROID RAZR Maxx using Droid Forums
     
  6. 94lt1

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    14,102
    Likes Received:
    2,013
    Trophy Points:
    693
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +2,237
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo
    Anytime... Thanx for finding the answer :)

    DROID RAZR MAXXAMIZED!!!
     
  7. TisMyDroid

    TisMyDroid Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,451
    Likes Received:
    354
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +354
    Now, I have even more questions. Dave may be able to help again.

    If you already have hardware buttons like on the Razr, do you have a choice to also include home screens with the soft buttons if you preferred them or do they just not exist? It would be awesome to use the home screen buttons and customize your hardware buttons for your favorite apps.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR Maxx using Droid Forums
     
  8. bens42608

    bens42608 Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Nah- if u have hardware Burtons then the on-screen ones are non-existent

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  9. TisMyDroid

    TisMyDroid Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,451
    Likes Received:
    354
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +354
    Thanks, Dave & Ben... I think that answers all my questions.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR Maxx using Droid Forums
     
  10. smalltowngirl13

    smalltowngirl13 DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    553
    Trophy Points:
    228
    Location:
    Kansas
    Ratings:
    +574
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note Edge / LG G3
    Twitter:
    smalltownlife13
    They would / could only be present if you are running a custom ROM that includes soft screen buttons - when DroidTh3ory was porting the AOKP builds you could have soft screen buttons...however, with the actual leak of ICS it will be as bens says - there will be no softscreen buttons...