Camera app stoped working - won't initialize

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by SROJOE, Aug 5, 2012.

  1. SROJOE
    Offline

    SROJOE New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If this is a new question/thread, please forgive a newbie. I searched but did not find anything similar. My camera will not start up from any of the camera app "buttons". This happened sometime around/after ICS was installed. Is this a problem with ICS or, have I got a broken phone app? What did I do besides go to the Verizon store - that is a last ditch effort.
    Thanks to all that respond.
  2. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,320
    Likes Received:
    612
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    Are you rooted?

    Try going into manage apps, all, camera, clear cache, clear data, force close, press and hold volume down and power.. hold until the phone shuts off.

    If it persists after this, you may want to consider doing a factory reset.
  3. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,320
    Likes Received:
    612
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    Also.. welcome to the droid forums :)
  4. SROJOE
    Offline

    SROJOE New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not rooted. Will try your suggestions.
  5. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,320
    Likes Received:
    612
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    You need to try this with the camera on, sorry.. I didn't mention that. Even if it won't initialize. . This will clear the app.. basic android :)
  6. SROJOE
    Offline

    SROJOE New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Your suggestion worked. Camera is back.
    What did your suggestion do? As i was holding the down volume button and the power button, the camera clicked and a screenshot was taken, according to the message at the top of the screen. Where is this screen shot stored? Will this combination of buttons take a screen shot of any screen? The phone rebooted just after the screen shot was taken. It suprised me and I released the buttons and then pressed again, waiting for the phone to shutdown.
    Where does one learn all these tricks?
    Thanks for the help!
  7. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,320
    Likes Received:
    612
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    You can learn these tricks here :) the screen shot will show up in your "my gallery" but its stored on your phone.. to access it directly open your app tray, my files, internal storage, the "pictures" file, inside it has a folder titled "screen shot".

    Yes you can use screen shot to take pictures of any screen.

    Glad its working for you.. you did try the camera app its self though right? Just want to be sure you're up and running.:cool:
  8. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,320
    Likes Received:
    612
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    Also, a screen shot taken during this reboot process will be flawed.

    To get a screen shot press and hold power and volume down at the same moment..

    To reboot press and hold volume down first, then power and press n hold.

    Hope this helps :)
Search tags for this page

android camera wont open

,

camera is unable to initialize droid 3

,
camera on phone wont open
,

camera unable to initialize droid 3

,
camera wont open android
,
camera wont open on droid razr
,
droid 3 camera is unable to initialize
,

droid 3 camera unable to initialize

,
droid 3 camera wont initialize
,
droid camera won't initialize
,
droid razr camera wont initialize
,
droid razr camera wont open
,
my camera wont open on my android
,
phone camera wont open
,
why wont my droid 3 camera initialize