I miss the "Charge Only" option!

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR' started by eagle923, Apr 16, 2012.

  1. eagle923
    Offline

    eagle923 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    16
    So I installed the ICS leak which runs great on the Razr. After coming from a Nexus, I missed ICS and some of the great additions. BUUUUTTTT.... I loved the "Charge Only" option that I had on Gingerblur. I enjoyed that I could plug into my computer to charge it up while listening to podcasts on Doggcatcher or whatever.

    Anyone else miss this feature? Is it still present that I'm missing?
  2. eidian
    Offline

    eidian Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I was thinking, "...what are you talking about you goof? I'll take some screen captures and show you what's up..."

    Looks like I'm the one who's the goof. At first it annoyed me but I realized quickly that for me, I connect to the PC only when I'm transferring files so this is actually cool. But I can see how it would be a PITA for you.

    I'll be watching this thread to see if there's a way to change this. Good catch.

    Running rooted ICS
  3. eagle923
    Offline

    eagle923 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Haha! I didn't notice while on vacation last week either, so I'm guessing most won't miss it. But at work I typically plug it in and listen to a podcast while eating lunch. Get a little multi-tasking in : charge phone, expand the mind and fill the belly.

    So much to my chagrin, I plugged it in today and my podcast hung :blink:

    I'm not sure if that is a Moto-blur feature that actually was useful or a 2.3.6 feature that got lost in the 4.0 transition.
  4. tjk629
    Offline

    tjk629 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,037
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well it isn't final yet, so they could still put it in.

    I would miss it personally. I used it if I USB tethered.
  5. cereal killer
    Offline

    cereal killer DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,073
    Likes Received:
    707
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    This...
  6. jpcalhoun
    Offline

    jpcalhoun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    PA
    Are you using the USB cable that came with your phone? If not the issue could be the cable. Not all USB cables work in the same manner as the Motorola provided USB cable...has to do with the manufacturing process/specifications for number of pins.
  7. eidian
    Offline

    eidian Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I used my BlackBerry cable when I first posted and I just tested with my Motorola cable, same results.

    Running rooted ICS
  8. eagle923
    Offline

    eagle923 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Not sure how the cable would affect the options upon plugging in the phone. But same as eidian, I tried a few. The phone charges fine and works with any cable, but there used to be an option under the stock configuration of "Charge Only" that didn't mount your SD card. Allowing you to use the phone as normal while charging via PC USB.

    Hopefully its something that isn't in the leaked version due to it being incomplete. It isn't a deal breaking feature, it was just a nice thing to have.
  9. jpcalhoun
    Offline

    jpcalhoun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    PA
    Yeah I understand what you're saying. Just a few days ago someone was reporting that all they could get was the "charge only" option and it turned out they were using a USB cable from some other phone. When they switched cables to the Motorola provided cable everything worked fine (mass storage etc). Just thought I'd check. Yes, they certainly need to get that fixed in the official release of ICS...hopefully.
  10. eagle923
    Offline

    eagle923 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ah ok. I get all the options I got on my Nexus (which had 4.03 on it as well):

    Mass Storage, Media device (MTP), Camera (PTP). Here's to hoping for that quite handy charging option!
  11. nonnasmyladie
    Offline

    nonnasmyladie New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    what ICS leak do you have that works

    Everyone I tried is flawed

    none of mobile data or camera

    Sent from my Transformer TF101 using DroidForums
  12. eidian
    Offline

    eidian Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Yeah, if that is one of a short list of differences between versions, I won't bother reverting to get the "official" release.

    Running rooted ICS
  13. eidian
    Offline

    eidian Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    There is a thread here announcing the leak. I think smalltowngirl was the person who posted a link and described the site as being a sister forum. Harleydude is the person who started the thread over there. I don't remember the name of the other forum.

    Running rooted ICS
  14. jpcalhoun
    Offline

    jpcalhoun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    PA
    There are a couple out there. This link Ics Anyone? I Haz It 4 Yew. - DroidRzr.com will take you to one that many users are having great success with, to include a lot of users on this forum. CAUTION: The OP of the link I just gave you makes it perfectly clear, you must follow his instruction to a "T". If you don"t, you'll either be unsuccessful getting it to flash or you will an install with issues. Hope this helps.
  15. eagle923
    Offline

    eagle923 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Google "Razr ICS leak no cheesecake" and it'll come right up. OP is named Harleydude. It is the first thread, and as JPCalhoun said, follow the directions EXACTLY and it works perfectly. You have to disable safestrap to do it, so you won't have a backup except for using Matt's utility to reset to 2.3.6.
  16. jigawatt
    Offline

    jigawatt New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Charge Only mode is gone in the official release. Rendering my phone completely useless as a media playing device when working and trying to charge it. Charging it with pc is apparently ok. Soon as a signal is sent that it is trying to send/receive data, then all ports go on lockdown.

    Charge only, something I used on a daily basis. So much for using my phone as a media player!
  17. WaltA
    Offline

    WaltA New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I miss that feature too.

    When I plug my phone into my PC, it is typically only for adb mode. Having my phone's memory and card mapped to my PC as disks too, is real pain. I have to remember to unmount them before unplugging my phone from my PC. :angry:
  18. Irontyke
    Offline

    Irontyke Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I noticed it wants to read your card, but it's not all lost. It still charges, just leave it plugged in. It still charges in the other modes too.
Search tags for this page
charge only mode droid razr
,

droid razr charge only

,

droid razr charge only mode

,
droid razr usb charge onlty
,

droid razr usb charge only

,
galaxy s3 usb charge only mode
,
how to charge only on droid razor
,
how to get droid x out of charge only mode
,
how to razr m charge only
,
moterola connect for charge only
,
motorola droid 4 will only stay on when on charge
,
razr charge only